Search Unity

1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Discussion Ideas for marketing a new game

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Crawdad, Mar 29, 2023.

1. Crawdad

Crawdad

Hey, guys. I'm pretty close to being ready to drop a demo for my game on Steam. This is my very first project, and so of course I'm starting to think about how the heck I'm supposed to make people aware of it. I was hoping some veterans on here would chime in on their experiences, and point some of us amateurs in the right direction. I'd love to hear what outlets have given you the most bang for your buck (or time), and also what marketing methods you don't feel were worth it. Given that it's my first project, I don't really expect big things, so I'd rather focus on marketing ideas that don't cost a lot of money. Thanks in advance!

2. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

i think where and how you market will largely depend on the product.

imgur and reddit have been the only productive social media for me. But I hardly made much efforts at it so far.

Crawdad likes this.
  3. Crawdad

Crawdad

Thanks for the feedback! On reddit did you create an announcement page for your game, or did you find pre-existing spaces to showcase?

4. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

preexisting communities, but thats for a niche hobby thing.

If its a general commercial game I dont think that would be applicable, though its little effort and nothing lost to try so might as well.

Crawdad likes this.
  5. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

You should have started posting about your game the moment you felt that you're going to move forward with that idea and implementation, ie wayyyy before you have a demo ready. Alas, hindsight ... ;)

Because while you develop you can gain some traction just by being visible, be it Twittcher, Twit, TikTube, YouBook, Red.io, itchit, you name it.