Search Unity

Ideas for level creation workflows

Discussion in '2D' started by diegzumillo, Nov 16, 2013.

1. diegzumillo

diegzumillo

I started making a 2d game prior the native support and now I'm in the process of adapting the workflow.

What I was doing: the level geometry was all made in 3ds max, using an extruded spline. When this was imported to unity it automatically generated a collider. Now that collider is useless because I'm using the physics 2d system, any suggestions on how to create level geometry?

I'm still learning my way in the new features, but I got my eye on that polygon collider 2d that can be edited in the editor. However, I need a way to tile a texture inside the created polygon, just to complicate things a bit.

Ideas? suggestions? I'm considering stepping back to 3d physics again, just to keep my previous workflow :p

2. Swamy

Swamy

I'm in a similar situation. I'm currently working on a 2D game as well. Previously I've been using my own engine for which I developed a quite nice work flow to create and prototype levels. I decided to switch to Unity but I wanted to keep my work flow so I developed an Editor extension for Unity. It let's me draw polygon shapes directly in the scene view similar to vector drawing applications like Illustrator. Moving and selecting vertices works actually like in 3dsMax. If you are interested I just uploaded a getting started video of it - it shows how I use it to prototype and set up levels:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=menRugu5IKY

I'm still in the middle of the process getting it on the Asset Store so the voice recording is probably not the best, but I'll hopefully be able to change that soon. I might as well upload 5-10 minute feature highlight version.

Your contact details and I can send you a Lite version, because at the moment the tool is awaiting approval. I would love to get some feedback on it.

3. diegzumillo

diegzumillo