Search Unity

Ideas about Game Developing

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by edufissure, Oct 26, 2018.

1. edufissure

edufissure

Hello, im a newbie here.
    I have to design a videogame for my graduation project in my Univesity.
    The project has to be affordable and made in about 3 months.

Any ideas about what can i write ? Kind of game ? 2d or 3d ? Tools to use ?

Dont need to say that is an educational purpose.

Thanks in advance

2. Red-Owl-Games

Red-Owl-Games

What kind of project is it exactly? If it's mainly about the design of the game, you might be best off focusing on that using paper prototypes which you can (after you've pinned down the design) use to create either a digital game or a boardgame. This method allows for quick variations in rules and game pieces/environments without the need to first invest in learning digital development skills.

If it's more about being able to use digital production skills (e.g. programming, creating 3D models, creating 2D graphics) I would start with trying to recreate an existing game. So pick a really really simple game (pong, flappy bird) and try to emulate that. You'll quickly run into a host of basic problems you can then use as starting points to learn more about digital game development.

If you want to take the last route, you can also check out unity's basic tutorials. (https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials, https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/s/roll-ball-tutorial)

Last edited: Oct 26, 2018
    JoeStrout likes this.
  3. TonyLi

TonyLi

+1 to starting with paper prototypes no matter what. It will save you several weeks of time.

Since you're new to game development and 3 months is a very short time, consider making the game in GameMaker, Ren'py, or Twine. You will be able to make your first game much faster.

Then, when you're hooked on how fun it is to make games and you need a tool with more power, get started on the Unity tutorials. :)

4. edufissure

edufissure

Well, sorry for my bad english.