Search Unity

Ideal lighting for procgen levels with modular pieces

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Reverend-Speed, Feb 4, 2019.

1. Reverend-Speed

Reverend-Speed

Hey folks, puzzling over some lighting issues and I'm hoping I can get some advice. I have some experience with coding and modelling, as well as baking lights, normals, etc.

However - I've hit a bit of a mental block on the following topic, so please be gentle. Eli5... =D

I'm experimenting with a procedural built 3D game environment which will be played from an Axonometric angle with perspective. A good example might be Tiny Keep or Path of Exile, etc.

I'm presently studying this page in an attempt to identify the best lighting approach for the 3D modules which will be swapped, rotated 90 degrees on Y, matched etc during runtime to make the levels.

Baking the lighting with Enlighten + lightprobes or precomputed GI + lightprobes for seems like it would be a waste of time, as modules will have their own light sources, which could clash with nearby baked lightsources (eg. spotlight aimed to the left of module one is not received by module two (to the left of module one).

However - looking at articles like this one seems to suggest that I should be able to build lightmaps for each module. So I'm a bit confused.

My current thinking is that I should employ Basic Realtime and try to overcome the limitations of the lighting through stylistic decisions (potentially recalling visual standards of earlier games with no bounces).

However, further down on the Unity Lighting Best Practices page, it suggests that I should be trying for All Baked Lighting and Lightprobes,
    Baked lighting is generally useful for games where run-time performance is an issue but there’s room in memory, such as top-down isometric mobile games and high frame-rate VR games.
    Isometric is a subset of Axonometric, so perhaps I should be looking at this...?

In summary, 'halp'.