Search Unity

Ian Cheng Art Style?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by JackZuckerman, Sep 16, 2020.

1. JackZuckerman

JackZuckerman

I’m a student working to simulate animal behavior using the unity engine, and I recently became enamored with an artist called Ian Cheng. Specifically, I love the art style of his simulations, images of which are provided below. It seems low-poly, but there’s a specific sheen to it, more plastic than metallic. It's really simple but it’s hard to recreate. I feel like there’s a game I’ve played before which has the exact same art style, but I can’t seem to find it. Games like "Abzu" and "Grow Home" are similar like low-poly style but they don't have this same sheen or sleekness - I can't really describe it. Do you guys have any advice on shaders and 3d modelling techniques? IanChengBlueSnow.jpg IanChengSquatofGods.jpg IanChengSunsetsTheSelf.jpg IanChengDogInStudio.jpg

Attached Files:

2. Le-Capitaine

Le-Capitaine

Taking a cursory look at it, it seems like raw (that is, untextured) vertex colouring alongside a light ramp, with a bit of chromatic aberration on top. It's not all that low-poly, but the flat look does bring out the outlines a lot. It's not all that hard to write a simple shader for the geometry part, but you'll have to do the vertex colours manually in your modeling software.

I've actually written a couple shaders to get a similar look (just with textures):

Capture d’écran de 2020-09-20 17-22-58.png

To make light ramping, you use an input ramp texture and sample a point from it according to light intensity, taking care to keep the texture unfiltered for some nice sharp lines. This shot actually uses vertex colour for the background geometry and I also happen to have an untextured variant lying around. it'll be a breeze to add vertex colouring to it if you'd like to use it. If you want to get into the code, I'll see if I can add in some comments to walk you through what each part does.

3. BrandyStarbrite