Search Unity

I want to understand how moba games work?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by khiem8991, Jan 2, 2022.

1. khiem8991

khiem8991

Hi! I just started learning unity game making, I have completed Unity Essentials Pathway, Junior Programmer Pathway and part of Creative Core Pathway. Currently I am learning about Multiplay in unity, I want to understand how moba games like league of legends work in terms of network. I can't imagine the structure of the moba game.
    I'm having visualizations about LOL:
    _Case 1: LOL has a dedicated server to store user data (like level, outfit, rank...), players will log in to this server. Then open LOL then we will enter LOBBY, We will find and match with 9 other people. Then 1 out of 10 players will act as the server, if this player is disconnected then the server rights will go to 1 of the remaining players. If this is the case, if I make a game like this, the game will have 2 networkmanagers, 1 to connect to the data server and 1 to connect the players?
    _Case 2: LOL has a dedicated server that both stores user data and runs a game server for players to connect to, and LOL includes 4 separate applications: LOL LOBBY Client, LOL LOBBY Server, LOL Client and LOL Client. LOL Server. LOL LOBBY Server and LOL Server save on dedicated server, LOL LOBBY Client and LOL Client on player side. First, on the server side, the LOL LOBBY Server is open, allowing LOL LOBBY Clients to log in and connect to and have the function of pairing and creating matches. After matchmaking, the server side will start 1 LOL Server and in each player machine will start 1 LOL Client, 10 LOL Clients will connect to 1 LOL Server. In this case, every time 10 players create a match, the dedicated server creates 1 more LOL Server. If this is the case then I don't know how different applications communicate ==.
    My visualizations may be wrong because I don't understand the basic concepts well. I want to be enlightened. Thank you very much!