Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

I want to make a dice seem rolling over the UI of my game but the dice never shows.

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by dewebkabouter, May 18, 2018.

  1. dewebkabouter

    dewebkabouter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    This is my first post so forgive my ignorancy if I do something wrong.

    I am working on a tribute game (basically goosgame meets RPG). which involves movement base on a dice role. I have the game mechanics working but I now need to show dice whenever I want to do stuff. because that is how the game will work.
    most of the game is 2d but I want to roll a 3d Dice over part of the UI. I created Quads to make sure the 3d object doesn't fall off the screen and i tried it out in an testgame in 2017.2 which worked fine.
    Because I want to track an active game object I am using cinemachine. but somehow whatever I try the dice never show in game. Does anyone have an idea how this could be done?


    the game looks like: this
     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,636
    Cinemachine is just animating the Unity Camera in your game. I don't see how it could be interfering with this. If you disable the CinemachineBrain on your main camera, does the problem go away?
     
  3. dewebkabouter

    dewebkabouter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    No its buggin me a bit because the effect of dropping the dice ontop of the UI is kinda the point. I tried adding a second v camera but either I am to N00bish to understand cinemachine or I am taking the issue the wrong way.