Search Unity

Question I want to Make a Clicker Game

Discussion in '2D' started by apollo_wayne, Apr 11, 2021.

1. apollo_wayne

apollo_wayne

Hi! I'm a beginner in unity... but I have a big goal :)

I want to make a clicker game like Clicker Heroes or Cookie Clicker with a saving system, or an online saving system.

The saving system and the online one kills me.

Do you have any tips or tutorials?

2. DevTn

DevTn

You could make a save file by making one large text program that lists all the data in it and compressing it into a different extension.

3. rarac

rarac

if you want to do online stuff you will have to buy a server and do network and database coding i advise you not to try this if you are new

4. apollo_wayne

apollo_wayne

Hi! Where can I learn all that? I really want to do this project

5. TheNightglow

TheNightglow

why do you want to make an online saving system, is there any benefit for your application to have its saves online instead of on the computer of the user?

most browsergames (pretty sure including cookie clicker) just save in the persistent data path of the users device....

you may want to take a look at I/O classes like StreamWriter and StreamReader that allow you to easily read and write textfiles

you could just write a serializeable save class that has variables for all the values you want to save, serialize it to json
    JsonUtility.ToJson(myObject);
    and than write the json text into some text file using streamWriter
    the path where you write it to could be
    Application.persistentDataPath
    that path will work on most operation systems and is generally where smaller games store their saves

to load you would then simply load from the persistent data path using the StreamReader and then convert the json back to an object of your save class, so you can read out the saved properties
    myObject = JsonUtility.FromJson<MyClass>(json);

this will work as long as all your save data is trivial serializable