Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Discussion I want to learn on my own

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Derek9132, Mar 26, 2023.

1. Derek9132

Derek9132

I've just gotten into coding movement and animations into unity and I've been watching youtube videos as guides. However, I find myself relying on them too much, sometimes even to the point of mindlessly copying whatever the video is doing. I do not feel like I'm learning anything, and all the confusing vocabulary and different functions and data types are very discouraging. Being a 2nd year computer science major, I have some experience programming in python and have gotten good grades in the computer science classes I have taken, but it is certainly nothing like this. If I am having to look up a tutorial on every tiny little thing, I don't think my project has a very bright future. What I want to do is to look a new problem and figure it out on my own with minimal help, or at the very least know where to start looking. In my computer science classes, I sometimes draw out the data structure or program I am working with to visualize it. I don't think that will work here, though. Does anyone have any tips? Should I explore the unity API? Should I just keep going and learn along the way? Should I make a few small practice games first? Any help would make my day.

Last edited: Mar 26, 2023
  2. Ryiah

Ryiah

I went with this approach. I determined the minimum necessary tasks for creating simple games, learned how to accomplish them (mostly through YouTube but if I did it now I'd just ask ChatGPT), experimented with them, and then set about creating pong and similar games.