Search Unity

Question I want to know how to specify the clip position in ShaderGraph.

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by mutsuyuki, Nov 5, 2021.

1. mutsuyuki

mutsuyuki

I am new to ShaderGraph.

I want to reproduce the following shader program that directly specifies the clip position in a shader graph.

Code (HLSL):
    2. struct appdata
    3. {
    4.     uint vertexId : SV_VertexID;
    5. };
    7. struct v2f
    8. {
    9.     float4 vertex : SV_POSITION;
    10. };
    12. v2f vert (appdata v)
    13. {
    14.     v2f o;
    15.     if (v.vertexId % 3 == 0) o.vertex = float4(-1.0f, -1.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);
    16.     if (v.vertexId % 3 == 1) o.vertex = float4(-1.0f,  1.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);
    17.     if (v.vertexId % 3 == 2) o.vertex = float4( 1.0f,  1.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);
    18.     return o;
    19. }
    21. fixed4 frag (v2f i) : SV_Target
    22. {
    23.     return fixed4(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.5f, 1.0f);
    24. }
    In the shader program, the input mesh have 3 vertices, and I move directly to corner of the clip coordinates to create a triangle.

The output result will look like this

The triangle is always drawn at the same position regardless of the camera position.

----

I want to reproduce this using the shader graph.
    My ShaderGraph is below.

It's messy, but I'm just reproducing the if statement.
    The position of the triangle vertices is set in the red circle.

The Result is below.

The triangles are drawn on the spatial coordinates.
    After some research, I found out that the coordinates connected to the Vertex must be local coordinates.
    I understood that the MVP transformation is implicitly done.

----

So I multiplied the inverse projection matrix and inverse view matrix and then connected them to the Vertex.
    I figured that this would return to the specified clip position by doing an implicit MVP.

As a result, the orientation of the triangles is now correct.