Search Unity

Question I want to draw a 2D grid on top of my ground meshes, is this the right way?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by ankurs3thi, Mar 22, 2021.

1. ankurs3thi

ankurs3thi

Hey folks!

I'm building a tactical game with Unity, with mechanics similar to Advance Wars or Fire Emblem. Similar to those games, I want to draw a 2D grid on the ground indicating a friendly unit's movement range when the player clicks on it. Something like this image.

Currently, I'm drawing this grid by procedurally generating a bunch of quads on top of my ground meshes and applying a transparent green material to them.

However, I'm running into two issues with my method:
    1. I can't figure out how to draw borders around my grid cells. Do I use a shader? A texture? Something else? I'm new to Unity and graphics programming, so I don't even know what to search for.
    2. Some of my ground meshes are not entirely flat, so bits of them poke out of my grid.
    Am I approaching this problem correctly, or should I throw out the code I currently have and start from scratch with a different approach?

Thanks for reading.

2. bgolus

bgolus

Sure. Either one works. You can make a solid white texture that's semi-transparent with the center slightly more semi-transparent and you'd be done. Something like the built Particles/StandardUnlit shader should work without any other changes.

If you wanted to use a custom shader that draws a box ... well ... that's also possible. But that's jumping a bit into the deep end. Drawing an outlined box using a procedural SDF in a shader isn't particularly difficult, but you need to learn the rest of the basics of shader writing to get there. Possible, but not really necessary if a static texture gets you everything you need.