Search Unity

I want to buy a 2.5D FPS template but there isn't a single one out there?

Discussion in '2D' started by thecomediant, Jan 18, 2019.

1. thecomediant

thecomediant

I want to create a 2.5D FPS, but I can't really code so I would need the skeleton of the game. The sprites must move with the camera as seen in old school games like Doom or Shadow Warrior. However I cannot find this anywhere. I have extensive experience on every other field as a modder. In fact I could make the game in GZDoom but I want something better, with multiplayer support and with a lot of documentation in case I need help, and no copyright attachments to anything that could give me problems in the future, so Unity is the only thing I can think off, I just need the template to start working on top of something and not from scratch which is impossible for me. Any ideas??

2. eses

eses

@thecomediant

To me it sounds you should start with something simpler... but here are some tips.

You could do this with any kit you find... just don't rotate the camera along it's x-axis. Then you have 2.5d view of maze or level, if you just don't rotate your camera freely.

Use suitable graphics, if you want to emulate the graphics style of the era (90s/2000). Use textures without filtering, i.e. set the filtering to point, so everything looks blocky. You could even use render texture to make your screen look low-res, retro / lo-fi style.

For character sprites you could use sprites that face camera, aka billboards. Do reading about this topic, it's not too hard to do in Unity, if you just need one camera view.

3. thecomediant

thecomediant

Well it's not really about not being able to look up and down, I want to be able to look up and down, like on the build engine or GZDoom

What I need is:

1) A menu with all the stuff, to select episode, order of maps... etc
    2) Sprite system, so enemy sprites rotate depending on your angle
    3) Weapon system, to change weapons and so on