Search Unity

I need help with my 2D game

Discussion in '2D' started by Vonfaris, Jun 20, 2019.

1. Vonfaris

Vonfaris

So, I'm quite new to Unity and I'm trying to get better at it, I've followed a youtube series on how to make a 2D game and I'm currently in the process of making of my own game.
    I'm trying to make it so when a dialogue pops up, my character stops the actual ANIMATIONS from moving.
    I've already made it so he stops moving but the actual animations keep on going as if he's moving.
    It's a touch game and there's also a joystick involved which you can move around with touch and that's the main movement control. That gets in the way of the dialogue activation though. I have a game object that represents the dialogue zone with a script attached to it that has this typed in it:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public void OnTriggerStay2D(Collider2D other)
    2.     {
    3.         if (other.gameObject.name == "Player")
    4.         {
    5.                 if (Input.touchCount == 1 && Input.GetTouch(0).phase == TouchPhase.Ended)
    6.                 {
    7.                     if (!dMAn.dialogActive)
    8.                     {
    9.                         dMAn.dialogLines = dialogueLines;
    10.                         dMAn.currentLine = 0;
    11.                         dMAn.ShowDialogue();
    12.                     }
    13.                 }
    14.         }
    15.     }
    and this part which is in the Dialogue Manager script which I believe you need the info about aswell to recommend a fix to my issue:

Code (CSharp):
    1. if (dialogActive && (Input.GetTouch(0).phase == TouchPhase.Began))
    2.         {
    3.             //dBox.SetActive(false);
    4.             //dialogueActive = false;
    6.             currentLine++;
    7.         }
    9.         if(currentLine >= dialogLines.Length)
    10.         {
    11.             dBox.SetActive(false);
    12.             dialogActive = false;