Search Unity

I need a little help stopping spawns within an area around procedural objects.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Nubnubbud, Mar 7, 2021.

1. Nubnubbud

Nubnubbud

alright, so, essentially, this game is 3d, with no true up, so it's a seriously 3D field of procedural objects. basically, it's in space, and there are very few large objects that the small ones must spawn nowhere near but both are pseudo-randomly placed, so I came up with the idea of a 2 tiered spawn system:

tier1: large objects spawn, even at far distances to make sure they always spawn first
    tier2: small objects spawn, and because the large objects are already there, they may check for them in order to do more creative spawn nonsense

I'm a bit new to scripting, what would you suggest to make sure tier2(small) objects not spawn within a certain radius of large objects?

I've already tried using CheckSphere, but to no avail, even though the large objects have colliders on them. it even seemed to work, and my bug log output the result, but the result was always a yes... there's no collider on the test objects, or more accurately, my script needs something that tests the location prior to instantiating the object, just a "check within x radius of point for object" which I know isn't quite how it would work...

2. arfish

arfish

3. Nubnubbud

Nubnubbud