Search Unity

I knew I was meant to be a programmer when...

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ProntName, May 7, 2020.

1. ProntName

ProntName

...can you answer that question?

I recently got into coding at the beginning of April. I am in an entirely different career right now (education), but I have always loved tinkering with computer systems and messing around with things. I’ve built several computer systems throughout my life and have been an avid video gamer since childhood. I have my earliest memory of a game called “Stunt Island”, which has a bit of coding elements to it.

Although I still know I’m a massive beginner, things are starting to really “click” for me and I can see how I can continue to research and learn more about programming, Unity, and C% I am in my late thirties, and I keep reading about how it is never too late to start.

So I’m very curious to hear about the moment when any of you knew that programming was something you wanted to do the rest of your life.

Cheers!

JoeStrout likes this.
  2. Vryken

Vryken

High school.

I was going through that phase where I couldn't figure out what I wanted to do with my life, and nothing I've done so far really appealed to me as something I'd be willing to spend the next 50 years doing.

Took an elective intro to Java course one year and it just clicked - I liked writing software, even when all I was doing was
    System.out.println("Hello World!");
    Something about making an application and seeing it work just sends those good brain chemicals rushing.

I continued down this path in college and graduated recently after completing a 3-year program. Now I'm working for a company as a web/mobile app developer and am experimenting around with Unity on the side.

No regrets.

Joe-Censored likes this.
  3. Ryiah

Ryiah