Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

I have a blank inspector panel

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by pp3, Jan 12, 2017.

  1. pp3

    pp3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I am trying to follow the Roll A Ball tutorial on this site. I have created the project and added a plane(ground). The next step was click on the gear icon in the inspector panel but my Inspector panel is blank! what can I do?
    Thanks,
    Paul
     
  2. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    18,253
    Check to make sure you have the appropriate object selected. A blank inspector usually means nothing is selected.
     
    blue-stone753, jimyang6888 and Kiwasi like this.
  3. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    8,095
    its also possible to have folder/file selected in project window, and had accidentally pressed the lock icon..
    then inspector is almost empty too.

    check that the lock is unlocked
    upload_2017-1-12_11-43-56.png
     
  4. patrbr126

    patrbr126

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry to be a pain but this is my first go at this and I have the same problem - how do I make sure that I have the appropriate object selected - I have clicked both right and left on to various areas of the project and no inspector tab comes up and no gear icon? can you help - thanks.
     
  5. Kiwasi

    Kiwasi

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Posts:
    16,849
    Can you show us a screen shot?

    Normally just clicking on the GameObject of interest in the hierarchy window will bring it up in the inspector.
     
  6. patrbr126

    patrbr126

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Posts:
    4
  7. patrbr126

    patrbr126

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for having a look at this.
     
  8. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    18,253
    You're just missing the Inspector tab. It's trivial to add it back. Click Window then click Inspector (or hit CTRL-3 or CMD-3 depending on whether you're on Windows or macOS). After the Inspector window has opened click and drag the tab from that window to where you want the Inspector to be.
     
  9. Kiwasi

    Kiwasi

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Posts:
    16,849
    Lol. That's a new one I didn't think of.

    You can also use the layout dropdown in the top right to set things back to one of the defaults.
     
    ZaydJardien and patrbr126 like this.
  10. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    18,253
    Right, but I feel like if they removed it they were likely setting up a custom layout (after all the Inspector panel is there by default in every layout) and want it to be laid out a certain way.
     
    patrbr126 likes this.
  11. patrbr126

    patrbr126

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Folks thank you both so much I have now got the inspector tab which is great news - I can now get on with this tomorrow before work - Big Thanks!:)
     
  12. Seych

    Seych

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks so much everyone was so helpful :)
     
  13. y2k_elder

    y2k_elder

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I had this problem too, first time user, running tutorials.

    Inspector tab was blank for everything I clicked, not even the properties specified in the tutorial were preset. I clicked on the "..." widget and "Normal" was selected. I selected "Debugging" and a whole bunch of stuff showed up. I re-selected "Normal", and then there were properties that were not there before, the tab looks correct now. I had to do this every time I selected something, switch to "Debug" and back to "Normal", which was unworkable. I even closed the tutorial tabs, closed and re-opened Unity Hub and the problem persisted.

    When I closed the Inspector tab and re-opened from the Window menu, it started working ok.

    I suspect that the Tutorial is to blame, and that it is a bug. I think the Tutorial is trying to simplify the panel but instead is causing a fubar condition. So if you are using the tutorials and have this problem, try to just close and re-add the tab.
     
  14. narraboth

    narraboth

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    THANK YOU! It was driving me crazy!
    By the way I wasn't working on the tutorial, but a different project. It could be a new bug.
     
  15. colorido3835

    colorido3835

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Has someone reported it yet?
     
    NullOverrideX and CloudyVR like this.
  16. dgromanis

    dgromanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having a similar problem but the solutions above aren't working - I'm in the Animator clicking on a Grounded state but nothing is appearing in the Inspector window. Like, nothing at all. Any ideas? I'm using Unity 2019.3.15f1 Personal for Mac. Very annoying, as the tutorial I'm following requires me to change a selection in the Inspector :(
     

    Attached Files:

  17. medialabgames

    medialabgames

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I have exactly the same problem as dgromanis above. (PC Unity 2019.4.2f1) Nothing in the inspector panel (ie. no parameters, blank no matter what I select) and nothing I do will make it work. I too am trying to follow a game jam official You Tube tutorial. To be honest I really think the whole tutorial side is a mess. There are many things that are wrong; menu items do not match the tutorials, locations of things are completely wrong (most likely referring to older versions) and a lot of me progressing has been complete guesswork. I am a developer by trade so it isn't as though I've never seen a computer before.
     
    unnanego, dgromanis and pjohnstone like this.
  18. pjohnstone

    pjohnstone

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having the same issue as @dgromanis and @medialabgames: When selecting an animation state in the Animator window the Inspector window is completely empty. Unity 2020.2.0a17

    In the Inspector window, both Normal and Debug mode is empty, and switching back and forth between the two does not make any difference.
     

    Attached Files:

    unnanego and HiperThi like this.
  19. JamesInGreerSC

    JamesInGreerSC

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue as above. Animator has a completely blank inspector. Nothing tried has worked :(
     
    unnanego and HiperThi like this.
  20. pbritton

    pbritton

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    117
    I have encountered the same problem. It works with some clips but others are blank.

    I solved my problem by changing this flag to one.
    m_ObjectHideFlags: 1
    It was three previous. This was done in a text editor. I located the AnimatorState and change the property. I am not entirely sure if this fix could break other things.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2020
  21. Reahreic

    Reahreic

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Posts:
    276
    This happens to me often when i'm using a custom editor or property drawer. (More-so for scriptable objects than any other object type) The inspector just fails to draw. It's seemingly random and takes a few clicks on other items then back to the original item to bring it back. That or switch to the lighting tab then back to the inspector tab.

    No errors, logs or warnings are ever thrown and often the content of the object hasn't been changed either. I've never been able to identify a cause.
     
  22. n8dev_yt

    n8dev_yt

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Posts:
    22
    This was my issue, thanks!
     
  23. CloudyVR

    CloudyVR

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Posts:
    654
    What version of Unity did this solve your issue for?

    I have same exact issue in Unity 2019.4.6f1 - my tab is non-responsive and repeating those steps exactly has no effect, closing and re-adding the inspector window but it remains frozen.

    Can someone please help?
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2021
  24. n8dev_yt

    n8dev_yt

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Posts:
    22
    2019.4.1, I would try just restarting your computer
     
  25. HeissenBergei

    HeissenBergei

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I can not see the inspector panel too
    what shall I do please help me
     
  26. Schneider21

    Schneider21

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    3,499
    @HeissenBergi: You shall select Window → General → Inspector (or ⌘3 on macOS) and then dock the panel where you like. Alternatively, you can change your Layout to one of the built-in schemes (all of which show the Inspector by default) using the dropdown in the top right of your Editor.
     
  27. Reahreic

    Reahreic

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Posts:
    276

    Three shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three.

    (Your reply made me smile lol)
     
    Schneider21 likes this.
  28. unity_Y9j4Se7VfnZItg

    unity_Y9j4Se7VfnZItg

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Just click on game object and then select cube, inspector panel will show with all required parameters, i have solved this. Because for inspector panel we need any game object creation.
     
  29. Gamertron106

    Gamertron106

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I am learning Unity as well and encountered the same problem, but I have figured out a temporary fix.
    Next to the padlock there is a menu, in the menu there is a button labeled "Debug", clicking that (or the button named "Normal" if you are in Debug mode already) after selecting an item will solve the problem. However, you have to do this every time you select something so I would recommend finding another fix.
    Hope it helps!
     
  30. CloudyVR

    CloudyVR

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Posts:
    654
    This has already been mentioned in previous posts. Though it does force the inspector to re-draw it is not a solution as the inspector Thread is still dead.

    I will say that if attempting to continue developing while leaving the inspector in a broken state has only caused me to make changes to the wrong objects - the object I thought I had selected was instead just the frozen inspector - many times causing me make changes to the wrong object (sometimes without noticing!!). This bug has got to go..

    [EDIT]
    Still present in 2019.4.16f1
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2020
    ninjacowzx likes this.
  31. shatteredfriend7

    shatteredfriend7

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having the same issue with inspector panel. My solution to this is closing the project and reopening the project. It's getting tedious to do. Is there any fixes? I haven't tried debugging when it happens.. maybe that will fix it. I'm running macOS 11.0.1 with an intel i7, 16gigs of ram and both a integrated and dedicated graphic card.
     
    Airmouse and CloudyVR like this.
  32. CloudyVR

    CloudyVR

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Posts:
    654
    Not sure if this solves the issue but I wrote a script that toggles the 'inspector mode' when new objects are select in the scene. That way it works just like changing the mode to Debug and back again but is fully automated and gives the effect of completely restoring the Inspector:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. /// <summary>
    2. /// This toggles the inspector mode whenever a new scene object is selected.
    3. /// This can be used to partially restore inspector windows to a working state after
    4. /// random Unity editor glitching has occured and all inspector windows are unresponsive.
    5. /// It's important that FixDeadInspector window be visible somewhere in the Editor for this to work!
    6. /// </summary>
    7. #if UNITY_EDITOR
    8. using System;
    9. using System.Reflection;
    10. using UnityEngine;
    11. using UnityEditor;
    12. public class FixDeadInspectors : EditorWindow
    13. {
    14.     [MenuItem("Glitches/Fix Dead Inspectors")]
    15.     static void Init()
    16.     {
    17.         FixDeadInspectors window = (FixDeadInspectors)GetWindow(typeof(FixDeadInspectors));
    18.         window.minSize = Vector2.zero;
    19.         window.Show();
    20.     }
    21.  
    22.     private int lastComponentCount;
    23.     private GameObject lastActiveGameObject;
    24.     void OnInspectorUpdate() //whenever the user adds or removes a component to the active object
    25.     {
    26.         if (lastActiveGameObject == Selection.activeGameObject)
    27.             if (Selection.activeGameObject != null)
    28.             {
    29.                 var componentCount = Selection.activeGameObject.GetComponents<Component>().Length;
    30.                 if (componentCount != lastComponentCount)
    31.                 {
    32.                     lastComponentCount = componentCount;
    33.                     ToggleInspectorMode();
    34.                 }
    35.             }
    36.     }
    37.  
    38.     void OnSelectionChange() //whenever a scene object is select refresh the inspector
    39.     {
    40.         lastActiveGameObject = Selection.activeGameObject;
    41.         if (lastActiveGameObject == Selection.activeGameObject)
    42.             if (Selection.activeGameObject != null)
    43.                 lastComponentCount = Selection.activeGameObject.GetComponents<Component>().Length;
    44.             else
    45.                 lastComponentCount = -1;
    46.         ToggleInspectorMode();
    47.     }
    48.    
    49.     void ToggleInspectorMode()
    50.     {
    51.         EditorWindow[] allWindows = Resources.FindObjectsOfTypeAll<EditorWindow>();
    52.         foreach (var targetInspector in allWindows) //for all windows in the editor
    53.             if (targetInspector != null  && targetInspector.GetType().Name == "InspectorWindow") //only for inspector windows
    54.             {
    55.                 Type type = Assembly.GetAssembly(typeof(UnityEditor.Editor)).GetType("UnityEditor.InspectorWindow"); //Get the type of the inspector window to find out the variable/method from
    56.                 FieldInfo field = type.GetField("m_InspectorMode", BindingFlags.NonPublic | BindingFlags.Instance);    //get the field we want to read, for the type (not our instance)
    57.  
    58.                 for (int i = 0; i < 2; i++) //toggle the InspectorMode
    59.                 {
    60.                     InspectorMode mode = (InspectorMode)field.GetValue(targetInspector); //read the value for our target inspector
    61.                     mode = (mode == InspectorMode.Normal ? InspectorMode.Debug : InspectorMode.Normal); //toggle the value
    62.                     MethodInfo method = type.GetMethod("SetMode", BindingFlags.NonPublic | BindingFlags.Instance); //Find the method to change the mode for the type
    63.                     method.Invoke(targetInspector, new object[] {mode}); //Call the function on our targetInspector, with the new mode as an object[]
    64.                 }
    65.                 targetInspector.Repaint(); //refresh inspector
    66.             }
    67.     }
    68. }
    69. #endif
    I developed this script in roughly 20 minutes - after more than 80 hours of lost time during the past year due to this Unity glitch..
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2021
    HiperThi likes this.
  33. WaqasHaiderDev

    WaqasHaiderDev

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Posts:
    116
    Hi, this sounds interesting but can you please elaborate what do you mean by this?

    "/// It's important that FixDeadInspector window be visible somewhere in the Editor for this to work!"

    Thanks.
     
  34. CloudyVR

    CloudyVR

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Posts:
    654
    Basically the tab must always be in the foreground to react to selection changes in the editor. If the tab is not in the foreground then it would not force the inspector to update.

    If the FixDeadInspectors window is undocked without any other tabs then it will always be in the foreground and should force inspector updates:


    When the window is docked but not part of any other tabs then it will always be in the foreground and should force inspector updates:

    Note in this configuration the tab height can be adjusted to zero so it takes little space in the editor and still updates in the foreground.

    However if the window is placed as part of other tabs then it may be sent to the background and will no longer update with unity editor selection changes. So this configuration would not force inspector to update:


    So the body of the FixDeadInspectors editor window must be visible (*even zero height) at all times..

    But maybe someone knows how to listen for
    OnSelectionChange
    events without needing to create a EditorWindow??
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2021
    HiperThi and WaqasHaiderDev like this.
  35. WaqasHaiderDev

    WaqasHaiderDev

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Posts:
    116
    Brilliant. Thanks for making this and also for explaining it to me in such detail. I am gonna test it.
     
  36. WaqasHaiderDev

    WaqasHaiderDev

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Posts:
    116
    Yes I confirm your solution works very well. I could not know even when my inspector got frozen and it was your script which was redrawing inspector and was saving me from headache. But then suddenly I selected a prefab Asset (I don't know the exact name it is similar as HDRP RENDERPIPELINE ASSET or URP ASSET.) Image attached. When I selected such an asset, inspector got frozen again. I don't know much about editor scripting so may be you can fix this in your code so that it works for such situations as well. Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  37. ninjacowzx

    ninjacowzx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    This worked for me
     
  38. CloudyVR

    CloudyVR

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Posts:
    654
    Apparently holding "V" or "shift" and dragging over an empty area in the viewport fixes the inspector!
     
  39. darkAbacus247

    darkAbacus247

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Posts:
    251
    It very much does, as suggested by pixeleif in thread

    I've already saved who knows how much time... Extremely frustrating bug, specially at first when you haven't quite figured out what's happening.

    Thankful as I am for pixels fix, automated would be better :) I'll probably check this out too.

    You should send to unity, maybe they'd take notice. We can't be there only set of users running into this
     
  40. blackshtormx

    blackshtormx

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Posts:
    15
  41. Airmouse

    Airmouse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Posts:
    86
    My inspector just keeps freezing, I am using 2019.4.28f1 so the bug still exists in very recent editors. I suspect that many users are experiencing this bug because it happens to me on all three of my PCs like 15 times a day. And on all versions of Unity 2019!! I have not used 2020 but assume it is just as bad.

    What is the logic behind keeping this bug in the mainstream? Is no one worried about this?

    Thanks to @trappist-1 for a solution, but wow I can't believe the solution is just a strange as the bug.

    If Unity hopes to compete with UE then by not addressing these kinds of weird behaviors is definitely giving Epic a huge advantage!! UE have superior rendering quality and their editor does not act weird.

    Please fix this weirdness !!
     
    Malbers and CloudyVR like this.
  42. pilz3d

    pilz3d

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    I have the same problem, inspector stays empty Iam using Unity 2020.2.0f1
    Tried everything
    Please fix this!
     
  43. Christin2015

    Christin2015

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    Works apparently in 2020.3.
     
  44. MaxCrawshaw

    MaxCrawshaw

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    i just pressed ctrl d then ctrl sfor some reason this worked
     
    yael-sagi likes this.
  45. Yasmindavid90

    Yasmindavid90

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    does it work in 2021.... site
     
  46. unnanego

    unnanego

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Posts:
    188
    Have the same problem on windows on 2020.3.32 in an animator controller on state nodes that have a transition - they also can't be moved and you can't make a new transition in normal mode - works ok in debug mode. If I remove transitions from a node, inspector shows properly.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2022