Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

I don't know if this is the appropriate place to ask this

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by LechongManok, Aug 16, 2019.

1. LechongManok

LechongManok

Note to the admins and moderators of this forum: Sorry if I posted this on the wrong forum, as this is my FIRST TIME using Unity Forums. If this post is not appropriate in this section, please, admins and moderators, I hope that you will put it on the correct place. Thanks.

I am using Unity for almost a month now and I am glad that I am learning something about UI Design (for our thesis, which I hope for the best) and using Unity overall. Although I cannot achieve the quality of Escape From Tarkov for now, I will get there.

Now my question about UI Design is this - I have two buttons, in which I would like to redirect to one single scene. For example, I created two buttons, which I labeled as Experiment 1 and Experiment 2, respectively. These two buttons are expected to land on the next same scene I created, except that the text and the next scene (which is the AR part, where the experiment proper will be done) will be changed depending on what the user has pressed. I know that this can be done through creating another scene but the question is - what if we have 20+ buttons, you will have to create 20 scenes? That's not economical and a waste of time for me.

So, I tried some coding, followed the tutorials that showed promise on solving my problem but alas, nothing is produced. The result? I am stuck on this dilemma at the last few days and I tried searching for an answer and up to now, I am still stuck. So, I decided to head to the forums to have the answers. Hope that you will help me.

Thanks!

2. Kirbyrawr

Kirbyrawr

First of all you don't need to use UIElements if you don't want.