Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

I cannot upload assets with unity accelerator,how to deal with it?

Discussion in 'Unity Accelerator' started by Xiaobeiji, Jul 22, 2020.

  1. Xiaobeiji

    Xiaobeiji

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    When I choose Continue,my unity is no response. My accelerator is working,so how to deal with it? Plz!
    qq.png qq1.png
     
  2. hiepu3d

    hiepu3d

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Posts:
    64
    Hello, could you provide us with more information about your setup? We would need to know more about:
    • Editor’s log
    • Operating system and Editor version
    • Bandwidth/network setup information
      • Are the accelerator and editor on the same network?
     
  3. lessice

    lessice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Same issue, I find it stop at this line 10, when stream try to read.
    pos += m_stream.Read(versionBuf, 0, versionBuf.Length);
    This code is form com.unity.scriptablebuildpipeline@1.7.3 Client.cs
    Code (CSharp):
    1. private void SendVersion()
    2.         {
    3.             var encodedVersion = Util.EncodeInt32(ProtocolVersion, true);
    4.             m_stream.Write(encodedVersion, 0, encodedVersion.Length);
    5.  
    6.             var versionBuf = new byte[8];
    7.             var pos = 0;
    8.             while (pos < versionBuf.Length - 1)
    9.             {
    10.                 pos += m_stream.Read(versionBuf, 0, versionBuf.Length);
    11.             }
    12.  
    13.             if (Util.ReadUInt32(versionBuf, 0) != ProtocolVersion)
    14.                 throw new Exception("Server version mismatch");
    15.         }
    This code is run in Unity 2019.4.9f1, windows 10, accelerator v1.0.591+g23eefb5
     
  4. hiepu3d

    hiepu3d

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Posts:
    64
    Hi @lessice , could you message your Editor Log as well if possible?
     
  5. lessice

    lessice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Here is my log.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Ryanc_unity

    Ryanc_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    332
  7. DrPoole

    DrPoole

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    Is this still the case? If so, does this mean you cannot use Addressables with the Accelerator?
    If you can't use Addressables with the Accelerator, and we have to use the Cache Server v1, then wouldn't all teams using Addressables with a cache server have to downgrade to Unity 2019 as well, to use the Asset Pipeline v1?
     
  8. ryanme-unity

    ryanme-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Scriptable Build Pipeline still does not support Accelerator unfortunately. I checked with the build pipeline team and Addressable still uses the Scriptable Build Pipeline so there won't be any Accelerator support for that. There are plans to eventually support this but we don't have any firm dates yet.
     
  9. DrPoole

    DrPoole

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    Then that is very concerning. Why deprecate the only version of a cache server that works with a feature that many teams will use? It appears that you should still use the cache server v1 for Scriptable Build Pipeline build artifacts, but there's no longer support for this feature?
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2022
  10. Wully

    Wully

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Is it possible to use both Accelerator to cache assets AND use cache server v1 to cache build artifact cache server?
     
  11. DrPoole

    DrPoole

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    I am actually attempting to do exactly this. There's documentation in the scriptable build pipeline docs about using the cache server v1: Usage Examples | Scriptable Build Pipeline | 1.19.6 (unity3d.com)
    Although I believe it is outdated, as you can configure the options to use the cache server in Edit -> Preferences... -> Scriptable Build Pipeline section. I am not sure about this. If you are using Addressables, I believe that it builds the asset bundles by default using the ContentPipeline.BuildAssetBundles automatically. I have been able to get the server to connect, and it uploads some artifacts, but the BuildCache folder still has many more files than the cache server has, so I think I am still doing something wrong.