Search Unity

I am new to Unity and have a lot of questions.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by VulcanAndroid1701, Feb 5, 2016.

1. VulcanAndroid1701

VulcanAndroid1701

Hi Unity3d Community,

I have been programming for years using Java and C and like to make 2d games. I finally decided to make the leap from 2d to 3d. I will be using Blender for Character Modeling and Unity for Game Development. I would like to program in C#.

1. Where is the best place to lean C# if you already have programming experience?

2. What are some good Unity Tutorials?

3. I would like to star with a simple 3d game. Which is easier to make, A Racing Game or a 3d Platformer?

4. What are some tips for getting started with game design?

5. How difficult would it be to get my game onto something like Steam?

6. Same question but with the Nintendo E-Shop?

7. I am sure I am forgetting some questions. Instead of trying to come up with them, just tell me some things I may need to know for what I am about to do.

Thanks,

VulcanAndroid1701

2. jhocking

jhocking

I don't know the answers to 5 or 6, but for the rest you should look at the Learn section of this website, and maybe consider getting Unity in Action, the book I wrote for programmers new to Unity: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/161729232X

Ryiah and VulcanAndroid1701 like this.
  3. mathiasj

mathiasj

1. Any book or tutorial will do as you already know Java. C# is very similar, both syntax and design-wise. C# just offers some more features and syntactic sugar.

2. I'd say that the official tutorials and the manual are sufficient; the most important thing is to directly use your knowledge in a small hobby project or so. However, Unity was not my first 3D engine and I don't know if they will be enough if you are entirely new to 3D programming.

3. I'd say a platformer. You probably won't need that realistic assets, the physics will be easier and so will the AI be.

I don't know about the other questions, sorry.

4. tedthebug