Search Unity

1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

I am just starting with 3D and have a few things I still can't understand..

Discussion in 'World Building' started by ssbbb, Sep 4, 2021.

1. ssbbb

ssbbb

Hi there!

I'm very new to 3D (although made a few simple 2D games already) and still trying to get the grip of it.

I've recently purchased Gaia and am trying to create a scene with a more realistic environment. While I get most of my questions answered by various YouTube videos and form threads, there are still things that I am trying to understand, such as...

1. How do you guys create a realistic wind effect? (imagine a forest storm) When I try playing with Unity Wind, I get a very unrealistic effect (tree branches and vegetation are looking stretched and moving weirdly). Is that mostly coming from the quality of the assets (trees, vegetation) or is this still achievable to a good level with Gaia (for example) and Unity Wind? I know this is a work of art (and also not Unity), but how do you achieve an effect similar to this:
      ?

2. When you try to create a realistic scene, are standard assets + Gaia enough for quality results? Am I right to assume that the "quality feel" is coming mostly from post-processing and lightning?

3. In your experience, is 7700k CPU and GTX1060 (3GB) + 32RAM a setup that is good enough for HDRP 3D?

4. Will using URP be a bottleneck if aiming to create that level of realism?
    Thank you!

2. warthos3399

warthos3399

Its more than possible in Unity, but if your new to 3D realism, its a very large subject, its not going to be easy for you. This can be done with BuiltIn or SRP's. But to have high detail/gfx HDRP is best suited.