Search Unity

TextMesh Pro Hyperlink did not work as expected

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by ConfusedCactus, Mar 11, 2019.

1. ConfusedCactus

ConfusedCactus

Hello all,

Newbie here. I am using Unity2018.3.5.f1. I was following some great tutorials on creating hyperlinks in textmeshpro, like the one here: https://deltadreamgames.com/unity-tmp-hyperlinks/

Everything worked as expected, but I ran into an issue, as you can see in the gif I attached, the link only worked when I clicked the first bits of the text, but when I hover to other parts it does not work, as the color does not change to blue :( I think the rectangle outside the words with a hyperlink is too small, so when the mouse hovered on it, it only work on the first bits.

The script I used is directly from the above-mentioned site (you can find the full script here: https://gitlab.com/jonnohopkins/tmp-hyperlinks/blob/master/Assets/OpenHyperlinks.cs), I think the following bits might be what is causing this behaviour.

Code (CSharp):
    1.  protected virtual void Awake()
    2.     {
    3.         pTextMeshPro = GetComponent<TextMeshProUGUI>();
    5.     }
    7.  void LateUpdate()
    8.     {
    9.         // is the cursor in the correct region (above the text area) and furthermore, in the link region?
    10.         var isHoveringOver = TMP_TextUtilities.IsIntersectingRectTransform(pTextMeshPro.rectTransform, Input.mousePosition, pCamera);
    12. public void OnPointerClick(PointerEventData eventData)
    13.     {
    15.         int linkIndex = TMP_TextUtilities.FindIntersectingLink(pTextMeshPro, Input.mousePosition, pCamera);
    16.         if (linkIndex != -1)
    17.         { // was a link clicked?
    18.             TMP_LinkInfo linkInfo = pTextMeshPro.textInfo.linkInfo[linkIndex];
    20.         }
    21.     }