Search Unity

Question Huge Animation Issues

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Reid_Taylor, Mar 30, 2021.

1. Reid_Taylor

Reid_Taylor

Im starting this thread because I need some solid answers. I've been using Unity for quite a long time and have started many projects. I am a programmer and my brother is an animator/modeler in Blender. We have started projects from a medieval open world game to a survival game. In all of these game we have had to stop because of severe animation problems. Mainly speaking of humanoid rigs/models. Here are some of the issues.

• Import humanoid character with animations. When in scene the animation positions model way in the distance and is rotated weird.
    • Unity won't let an Imported model with rig be humanoid.
    • Blend file works but FBX doesn't and vise versa.
    • Lots of extra weird animations come with model on import.
    • Everything seems to work but the animations don't look like they do in blender.
    These are just a few of the issues we have encountered with Unity's animation/humanoid system. This could also could not be Unity and be a problem of Blender. This is part 1 of this thread. So, my question is: is it just us or does everyone else have these same problems? And if everyone has these problems what do people do to fix them? It can't just be a bad animation system because large games like Escape From Tarkov, Subnautica, Critical Ops, etc... use Unity and have complex animated humanoids. Thoughts?

Last edited: Mar 30, 2021
    anycolourulike likes this.
  2. Reid_Taylor

Reid_Taylor