Search Unity

HUD Radar hoping this could help anyone

Discussion in 'Immediate Mode GUI (IMGUI)' started by Kardux, May 14, 2013.

1. Kardux

Kardux

Well after working during two days on it (yeah i'm new to Unity so maybe some of you may be able to achieve this in an hour :p), I finally ended doing something good that works well !

My project was to create a kind of HUD (Head-Up Display) that could focus items in your scene (for me the items you can interact with).
    I have to warn you that I still guess I've done some things in a weird way so they could have been much simpler !

Anyway thanks to robertbu for his help and here's my script (that I fully commented for more understanding) if it can be useful to any future visitor : Feel free to use on your own ;)

Code (csharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using System.Collections.Generic;               //Use this so you can manipulate Lists
    5. public class GUIRadar : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     public Texture2D targetIcon;                //The target icon that will be placed in front of targets
    8.     public float maxTargetIconSize = 300f;      //The maximum size of icons when close to the target
    9.     public float minTargetIconSize = 0f;        //The minimum size of icons when they appear (far from the target)
    10.     public float maxDistanceDisplay = 10f;      //The maximum distance from where you can see the icons appearing
    11.     public float minDistanceDisplay = 2f;       //The minimum distance from where you see the icons disappearing when too close
    12.     public float smoothGrowingParameter = 25f;  //The speed of the growing effect on icons
    13.     public float smoothMovingParameter = 25f;   //The moving speed of items : high values means the icon is "attached" to the item
    14.     public bool directViewEnabled = true;       //If you want to allow icon display even if targets aren't in direct view for the player