Search Unity

HUD Navigation System | Radar - Compass Bar - Indicators - Minimap

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by SickscoreGames, Apr 23, 2018.

  1. gearedgeek

    gearedgeek

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Posts:
    119
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2019
  2. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    688
  3. meleejohn

    meleejohn

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Hey Guys,

    I've been using the HNS for about a month or so now and I just stumbled across this problem with no idea how it was caused or how to fix it. When my scene loads in and the player is allowed to move the HUD objects will jitter and move all over the screen and will not stay in their spot on their object. Attached is a photo of what it looks like, each enemy has one on themselves but can be seen on the left side of the screen where here aren't any enemies. Any idea as to what causes it/to fix it?
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KoLixHLnPyiLWMzj3k0YdEBj1e_QSb6G/view?usp=sharing
    Thanks
     
  4. namdo

    namdo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Posts:
    177
    Can I change minimap in runtime as its important for me. First floor has it's own minimap, second floor has it's own minimap and third floor has its own minimap
     
  5. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    688
  6. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    328
    @SickscoreGames is it possible to add 3d space icons for loot that fade in when player is near the object using HUD Navigation System?

    Is it possible to not show icon if there some object between camera and loot. Here's example where icon doesn't get shown when there a car door or window between loot and camera.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2019
  7. dl290485

    dl290485

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    124
    I followed the instructions (there aren't many) and have no idea why the indicator is not on the target. It acts a bit weird like it's rotating around an axis or something, so it's WAY off a few meters away (eg; pointing to the top right corner or the screen when the target is directly in front on the ground) but when you get point blank you can find a view angle that makes the marker converge on the target.

    I have attached a screen shot. It shows the wood pile with the Indicator Element, but the actual indicator is at the top right of the screen.
    marker-off.jpg
     
  8. dl290485

    dl290485

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    124
    I did a test where I put a single camera in the scene and set it as both the controller and camera in the quick setup. That worked. So I've figured out my issue is with how my third person character is set up with the camera not mounted on the controller.

    What am I supposed to do about it though? Is @SickscoreGames even providing support anymore?
     
  9. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    328
  10. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    328
    He just responded through the email, so I advise you to contact him through the email (contact@sickscore.games)
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2019
  11. cloverme

    cloverme

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Posts:
    21
    Great asset, works nicely... well done.

    The DontDestroyOnLoad function causes problems where character controllers and dynamic utilities (like save/load code) assume the GameObjects are loaded on player death, etc. Commenting lines 123-133 in HUDNavigationSystem.cs fixes the issue.
     
  12. vertexx

    vertexx

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    OK then. Tried Emailing at the address shown..
    Nothing.
    So here we go: What does the "Scene Manager" do?
    Why should it be used?
    When should it be used?
    How is it used?
    What if it's not used?

    Where to attach it? To the Player xform?
    Camera? Where?..and then what?

    Where is there any info on the "Scene Manager?

    Minimap
    How do you get the indicators to show up in the minimap?
    For me..attaching the script to the object/s concerned allows the indicators to be seen everywhere they should ..except in the minimap!
    Should that "scene manager" be used for this apparent fault?

    "Zooming in" with the minimap sliders does not maintain that level , but the map goes back to some default on runtime?
    Lots more to ask.

    Amazing to me that Unity allows assets like this to continue to be offered for sale when their is no feedback site or contact to ask questions.
    But I guess a quick buck for someone.!

    Refund? Any clues?
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  13. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    288
    I got it because I wanted a compass and figured I would get more for my money.

    But end the end, I’ve only used the compass. Tried to get the indicators to work but had issues so I’ve given up, at least for now. Haven’t had a use for map or radar yet.

    Thankfully the compass is basically plug and play.
     
  14. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,513
    Indicators are easy to set up. If you need any help, I can try to help you.
     
  15. vertexx

    vertexx

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    Dragging prefabs, setting up that Scene manager correctly. Attaching scripts and attaching the correct Prefabs to your own objects. Changing scenes. Modifying sizes that will stay that way during runtime.
    All of these essential little things are either not mentioned at all or simply described in such bad detail as to be senseless and useless.
    Where are you Mr Developer?.
    And Unity..Have you no funds available to employ someone to actually check up on these things before offering such rubbish for sale? Come on now. We are your customers after all.
    Its getting very close to fraud. Certainly deception.
     
  16. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    288
    Thanks Magique!
    I had them working but they were bouncing around on both the compass and on screen when close or far away.
    It seemed stable at first, but then started bouncing left and right.

    Have you seen this happen?

    I used the indicators from the demo. But I have a large terrain, veg studio and terrain with landscape builder.
    I want to get them working to help navigate the large terrain.
    Thanks for any help you can give.
     
  17. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,513
    I thought you were having trouble just setting it up, but this is a bit different. No, I've never seen this issue before. But I'm not exactly sure what you mean by bouncing around. Maybe a video would help. I also have smaller terrains so not sure if that's an issue.
     
  18. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    288
    Ok thanks.

    It was kind of weird.
    When I turned, the indicator would not stay centered on the target. If I moved the indicator would move, even if the target was at the center. It was strange.

    It was a trial, I'll try it again when I get further along.
    I might try it again soon. I'm setting up an island chain and will boat to each island and the indicators will help find the treasure, etc.
    I'm getting close to needing it again, so I'll let you know.:)

    David
     
    magique likes this.
  19. Carpe-Denius

    Carpe-Denius

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    804
    Just FYI: you can change the script execution order in your unity settings. The navigation system depends on camera position, so it needs to update after all your camera movement scripts.
     
  20. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    288
    Where do I make that change? Sounds like it might help my issue.
     
  21. Carpe-Denius

    Carpe-Denius

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    804
    Edit-> Project Settings -> Script Execution Order

    Click the + at the Bottom, add SickScoreGames.HUDNavigationSystem.HUDNavigationSystem. It should appear somewhere at the bottom, where it should be. You're probably safe to keep it at the end. I needed it after Cinemachine.Brain
     
  22. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    288
  23. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    328
    Hm... Asset got updated recently. By the way I've discovered one issue with HUD Navigation System. I'm posting it here for everyone who might get affected by it.

    It seems that HUD Navigation System doesn't work correctly if Canvas is set to Pixel Perfect.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  24. topofsteel

    topofsteel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Posts:
    968
    I have multiple cameras that I need to switch between, what is the best way to accomplish this? Would I create a separate game object and add the HUD Navigation System component to that and switch between them programmatically? Or add the HUD Navigation System component to each camera setup i'm using? Thanks.
     
  25. leventalpsal

    leventalpsal

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I've been trying to use use your HUD Navigation System asset on a split screen game. There are up to 4 players dividing the screen by 2x2. I want to use HNS and have each user its own compass, indicator and other HNS features. The scripts use singleton approach and doesn't support this feature. I believe that @SickscoreGames can and should implement this feature.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.