Search Unity

Hub tray icon not showing in mint 19.1

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by jooleanlogic, Feb 4, 2019.

  1. jooleanlogic

    jooleanlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    327
    I just updated my Linux Mint from 19 to 19.1 and when I close the Unity Hub, it no longer minimizes to an icon on the tray. It's still running in the process list but there's no way to access it except relaunching it.
     
  2. JasonLeeKennedy

    JasonLeeKennedy

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    I am getting the same issue on a fresh install of Ubuntu 18.10. I would be glad to hear of any fixes that you find.
     
  3. jooleanlogic

    jooleanlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    327
    I found a temp solution for this on mint.
    If I right click on the task bar and turn "Panel edit mode" on, the hub icon becomes visible again and remains there after turning "Panel edit mode" off again. I don't know what the equivalent on Ubuntu is.
     
  4. JasonLeeKennedy

    JasonLeeKennedy

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    thanks. it is using GNOME as a desktop. I don't seem to have that same option. I have an open support ticket. Unity thought the issue was a missing package (didn't fix it). Still waiting for an update from my reply to that.
     
  5. judgementAlex

    judgementAlex

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    This is a bug in electron.
    Try exporting XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=Unity before launching unityhub. If you have KStatusNotifierItem extension, the tray icon will appear.
     
  6. JasonLeeKennedy

    JasonLeeKennedy

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    I tried that, didn't work. Might be that KStatusNotifierItem extension is broken in 18.10 (I tried installing it, it just errors). I do however get tray icons for everything else that I have installed that creates a tray icon.

    However, this solution does sounds similar to something I had to do on my older computer at some point.
     
  7. jooleanlogic

    jooleanlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Posts:
    327
    Thanks Alex that worked for me.