Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Hub 3.0 Linux new distribution mechanism - All you need to know

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Gennady, Dec 13, 2021.

  1. Gennady

    Gennady

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    Hi everyone!

    After a lot of feedback around how we release our Linux based version of the Hub we have decided to distribute the Hub though RPM and Debian repositories going forward. This should help with a lot of the reported problems around AppImage desktop integration.

    We ask that if you want to use the Linux version of the Hub please read this documentation. It describes the process for downloading the Hub and keeping up to date with any new releases.

    For now, we are only releasing the beta.7 version of the Hub to be sure that we are not breaking any critical flows for you. Stay tuned for the full v3.0.0 release coming early next year.
     
  2. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,320
    Hi,
    I guess it's not a bad thing but I'd like to keep using the appimage (I can live without the integration thingy :)); will you still maintain them?
     
  3. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,320
    Can't we just switch to the beta version within the Hub now?
     
  4. davidsamacoits

    davidsamacoits

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Posts:
    18
    Hi @APSchmidt and thanks for you question!

    Unfortunately no, appimages won't be supported anymore as they don't come with the OS integration we are looking for. Moving forward, installing and updating Hub (including beta) will be as explained in our documentation.

    Thank you!
     
  5. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,320
    Thanks, what about my second question, our posts passed each other by. :)
     
  6. davidsamacoits

    davidsamacoits

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Posts:
    18
    Starting from beta-7 and moving forward, switching channel won't be an option in app anymore. Instead you will have to target a different repository as explained under "Installing the beta versions of the Hub on Linux" in our documentation.
     
  7. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,320
    Okay, thanks. When will version 3 be officially released? :)
     
  8. Beto-Caldas

    Beto-Caldas

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8
  9. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,320
    Beto-Caldas likes this.
  10. Beto-Caldas

    Beto-Caldas

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    There is only 2 files with names close to "Unity", but none of them worked as expected.
    upload_2021-12-17_2-0-14.png
     
  11. zezba9000

    zezba9000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Posts:
    906
    Why not flatpak?
     
    lyoneel, dan_ginovker and ll3v3ll like this.
  12. ll3v3ll

    ll3v3ll

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Is the flatpak version of Unity Hub packaged and provided by Unity ?
    Or some other 3rd party ? Is it trustworthy ?
     
  13. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,320
    Flatplak are notoriously not supported by the software developers. There are exceptions but if the Unity Hub package is actually supported by Unity, then it should be clearly mentioned; if it's not too, for that matter.

    Anyway, using anything that does not come from Unity is not recommended.
     
  14. dan_ginovker

    dan_ginovker

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2021
    Posts:
    41
    +1 for Flatpak support - It makes Unity easily installable through the different Linux app stores. I currently use Unity via Flatpak and it works great, although I'll be switching to this distribution method to get the beta in the meantime.
     
    lyoneel likes this.
  15. aragaer

    aragaer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    How do I install UnityHub if my Linux is neither Ubuntu/Debian nor RHEL/CentOS?
     
    EthicalDisorder and lyoneel like this.
  16. sakunix

    sakunix

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2022
    Posts:
    17
    unityhub won't open.
    Xubuntu,
    upload_2022-3-9_21-41-24.png
     
  17. zezba9000

    zezba9000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Posts:
    906
    Those "nice" Linux options (cough I mean fragmentation) aren't what they're marketed as. This is why Unity only officially supports Ubuntu's main distro. (sorry for the Sinicism). This plus monolithic-kernels aren't well suited for dynamic hardware while great for fixed hardware like SteamDeck / Consoles / Servers.

    Flatpak might work for Unity but I found out from .NET Core team that Flatpak has a large number of issues as well. In fact the only way to install .NET Core on Linux / Ubuntu is now a .deb package as well. Snap is also just broken.

    I've come to realize that for client side devs on Linux, official Ubuntu DE is the only option. Which itself has many issues but most major companies target it. Android Studio / Google, .NET, VSCode / MS & Unity3D etc.

    Anyway this is just my view and experience. Linux topics can be like walking around egg shells but I do mean the best & hope for better solutions in the future.
     
  18. almusx

    almusx

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Hub wont open Ubuntu 22.04


    ERROR: Licensing SDK logging callback is not registered. Please use 'registerLoggingAdapter' function from the SDK to do so.
     
  19. BielJunio

    BielJunio

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    upload_2022-6-18_17-11-48.png
    I did the installation following the instructions on Ubuntu, but when I open the application, this error occurs.
    How can I solve this?
     
    DrMeatball likes this.
  20. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    168
    Can we get rpm variant for SUSE please?
     
  21. spliskin

    spliskin

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Just like to point you and anyone who uses appimage to this software: AppImageLauncher or https://github.com/TheAssassin/AppImageLauncher

    Pretty much takes care of the integration issue. I haven't had any issues using this with the previous appimage. Just a thought and I don't know how many really know about that option but it's suited my needs fine.

    I run Unity on Artix Linux, an Archlinux based distribution and have no intention to switch distros or switch to Ubuntu. Hopefully you will check this out and realize there are options.
     
  22. jamesimmersivevr

    jamesimmersivevr

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Any reason why Fedora is not supported? That seems kinda weird?
     
  23. jamesimmersivevr

    jamesimmersivevr

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    For anyone running Fedora 36, using the RHEL/Centos instructions work but you need to also install openssl 1.1 to at least get the hub to run

    Code (CSharp):
    1. sudo dnf -y install openssl1.1
     
  24. SleepingRobot

    SleepingRobot

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    +1 for Flatpak support
     
  25. johan_unity812

    johan_unity812

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I have this exact issue. Any solutions?
     
    DrMeatball likes this.
  26. DrMeatball

    DrMeatball

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2021
    Posts:
    52
    Also running into this issue. Ubuntu 22.04.1
     
  27. unity_9BC1E48589FF56B1211E

    unity_9BC1E48589FF56B1211E

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    i'm on ubuntu as well nvidia graphics. getting stuck in a login loop after xdg-oprn part. the ./unityhub nor unity hub are command arguments. how did yall get past this?
     
  28. seloran

    seloran

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2020
    Posts:
    42
    With the obsolescence of the use of AppImage for Unity Hub on Linux, while I do see the instructions for getting Unity Hub via the terminal being linked from https://unity.com/download, I still seem to see the link for downloading the AppImage at https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download . Perhaps that page should be updated?

    Also, for those on Ubuntu 22.04 who still have problems with Unity Hub, there is an official workaround with a list of steps, but it requires libssl1.1 which may not be ideal.

    The workaround is mentioned in the OP of the following thread: https://forum.unity.com/threads/running-unity-on-ubuntu-22-04.1284083/

    However, ideally, the Unity Hub should get patched so it supports libssl3 as well on Ubuntu 22.04 and later soon since as I mentioned in that thread that the workaround is not without consequences.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2022
    con6833GAR likes this.