Search Unity

How would you go about making a 'basketball' type object?

Discussion in 'FPS.Sample Game' started by Shhteve, Nov 12, 2018.

1. Shhteve

Shhteve

The game I'm modifying the FPS Sample into requires me to have a single scene-object that players on either team can pick up and score in each other's bases.

So far my strategy is to modify the Grenade module to fit my needs. I'm new to using ECS, so this whole thing is pretty experiment/learning heavy, and I just wanted to check with you fine folks to see if anyone can think of a good way or good starting point for implementing something like this?

*COUGH* or if the Unity team is already working on a CTF game mode and I should just be patient *COUGH* :)

2. Mogens_H

Mogens_H

Unity Technologies

Sound like a fun idea.
    First thing to note is that the grenades are moved using our own code and we dont use physics system and rigid body (as you probably have seen from the code). This gives us more control over movement and allows us tweak it for gameplay purposes.
    IMO it would be a good idea to use same approach for your "ball" - and - you need to do some changes in the ServerGameLoop if you want to use the Unity physics system to drive the positions. The server currently generate snapshot at the end of update, but if we wanted to drive replicated properties from physics we should generate snapshot in LateUpdate (after physics system has run). We are considering moving snaphot to LateUpdate -but I dont know when that will happen.

I think using grenade+launcher is a good idea. You could change grenadelauncher to start with 0 ammo and change grenade behavior to add one ammo instead of doing damage. We dont have a good way to create custom behavior for different grenade types - so perhaps you can just add a "update type" propety and branch for that in the grenade systems.
    Regarding pickup: we hope to add some kind of simple pickup soon (probably health)

CTF? Not something we have planned