Search Unity

How would Unity Pro help me?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by b3jh24, Apr 3, 2014.

1. b3jh24

b3jh24

Hello all,

I've been working on my first game in Unity for a little bit now, and I've began to wonder if the Pro version would be beneficial for me. Currently I am using the free version of Unity, and I have not been hindered by it whatsoever. However, I am wondering if Unity Pro would facilitate things a bit more. Let me explain what I mean by that:

So, my strengths as a developer are mainly in coding, and coming up with gameplay ideas. I am an absolutely terrible artist/animator/modeler, etc. I realize that these things are an important part of the development process, and so far I have struggled with these tasks. So, that brings me to my question - would Unity Pro make these parts of the development process any easier? So, does Unity Pro have any significant advantages over the free version in terms of graphics, texturing, and animation, or am I just going to be hindered by my lack of skill in these areas either way?

My biggest concerns are about creating realistic textures and materials; for some reason, I can't make a decent texture for the life of me.

By the way, I am using Autodesk's Maya, as I was able to get a free student version from my school.

Any input at all would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

2. arvzg

arvzg

In case you haven't seen this yet, you can find a comparison of what's in Pro that is not in Free here: http://unity3d.com/unity/licenses Scroll down to the Graphics section.

If you're not doing some high end stuff that needs stuff like real time shadows and occlusion culling (to squeeze as much performance out of your game as possible) then absolutely not. There's nothing there that will help you. Pro features are exactly that. Pro.