Search Unity

How to use the controls over a downloaded animated character asset

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Blackfly972, Jan 20, 2019.

1. Blackfly972

Blackfly972

Hello Guys I'm very new to Unity with a little bit of programming experience. So, I've downloaded this asset package https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/3d/characters/humanoids/sci-fi-hero-handpainted-demo-106154 I've figured how to import it into the scene and everything but now I want to use its animations with different controls. meaning standing still: having the standing animation going, use the 'awsd' buttons: having the walking animation going + actually moving the character and so on and so forth.
    Can someone help me with that please? I did a little bit of research where I've seen that I need to use the character controller component but I'm a bit lost. ^^

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

You'll need to write some code to watch the inputs (from keyboard/mouse/gamepad) and set appropriate flags on your AnimatorController. Those flags will be set to trigger state transitions (and thus different animations).

All this is going to be rather hard to figure out in isolation. You should spend a week or two going through the Unity tutorials, especially those having to do with input, coding, and animation.

3. Blackfly972

Blackfly972

Thank you very much for your response! :D I'm actually watching the tutorials you recommended to me and I'm starting to get a better understanding on what I need to do. can I get back to you if need help? you seem like you really know your way around unity haha.

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Post here when you get stuck, and I'm sure somebody will help you! :)

5. Blackfly972

Blackfly972