Search Unity

Question how to update bundles without restart the app

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by elfasito, Oct 21, 2020.

1. elfasito

elfasito

Hello people.
    im pretty new in unity and addressables system.

I have everything working almost perfectly, except with a problem managing my bundles updates (addressables).
    Im work with persist cache to use my app in offline mode.
    Basic scenario:
    1- download scenes from remote adressables (downloaded individually).
    2- if is offline>load addressables from cache. (previously downloaded)
    3-if is online>check if a catalog update exist and update it. (this check are made when I try to open a new scene.

my problem is: I cant load/get my bundles updates without restart the app.

I tried this:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public void CheckRemoteCatalog()
    2.     {    
    3.             Addressables.CheckForCatalogUpdates().Completed += checkforupdates =>
    4.             {
    5.                 if (checkforupdates.Result.Count > 0)
    6.                 {              
    7.                     Addressables.Release(AddressableSceneToLoad);
    8.                     Addressables.ClearDependencyCacheAsync(AddressableSceneToLoad);
    10.                     Addressables.UpdateCatalogs().Completed += updates =>
    11.                     Debug.Log("new bundles exist in server");                
    12.                 }
    14.                 else
    15.                 {
    16.                     PressButtonLoadScene(); //this function download/load remote scenes
    17.                     Debug.Log("Nothing to update");
    18.                 }                            
    19.             };
    20.     }
    works partially,.
    I used:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Addressables.ClearDependencyCacheAsync(AddressableSceneToLoad);
    to clear addressable cache, works but need to restart the app to take effect.