Search Unity

Question How to turn on/off, ISystem update?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Zimaell, Mar 18, 2023.

1. Zimaell

Zimaell

I am studying the lessons on entities 1.0.0, now I am interested in the question - how to turn on/off, ISystem update?
    Here is the spawn in the example
    Code (CSharp):
    1. partial struct SpawnSystem : ISystem{
    2.     [BurstCompile]
    3.     public void OnCreate(ref SystemState state){
    4.         state.RequireForUpdate<SpawnDataComponent>();
    5.         }
    6.     [BurstCompile]
    7.     public void OnDestroy(ref SystemState state){}
    9.     [BurstCompile]
    10.     public void OnUpdate(ref SystemState state){
    11.         var spawnData = SystemAPI.GetSingleton<SpawnDataComponent>();
    13.         var ecbSingleton = SystemAPI.GetSingleton<BeginSimulationEntityCommandBufferSystem.Singleton>();
    14.         var ecb = ecbSingleton.CreateCommandBuffer(state.WorldUnmanaged);
    15.         var vehicles = CollectionHelper.CreateNativeArray<Entity>(spawnData.TankCount, Allocator.Temp);
    16.         ecb.Instantiate(spawnData.TankPrefab, vehicles);
    18.         state.Enabled = false;
    19.         }
    20.     }
    state.Enabled = false; as I understand it, it disables the update of this system, but what if I need to create a couple of objects in the process? I am changing the data in the SpawnDataComponent and again I need to run one cycle of this system, but how do I do it?

How do I send a request to the spawner so that it creates something and turns off?

Eristen likes this.
  2. JooleanLogic

JooleanLogic

The System will run or not based on RequireForUpdate. You shouldn't need/use Enabled for this. The problem is you're requiring for update only a singleton component which is presumably always alive due to it having the prefab reference.

1. The simplest solution is to require an additional tag or enableable component. I.e.