Search Unity

How to talk with top gamers for horror game design

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by hongwaixuexi, Sep 22, 2018.

1. hongwaixuexi

hongwaixuexi

I know some gamers who have strong passion on games, and they continously provide suggestions. While they are not game devlopers, and have no idea of game design.

For instance, I want to shift my focus on horror games. I talked with one gamer who are expert gamer in horror game. He checked my demo, and said I need a writer. Then I asked a lot of questions like how to change my current scene etc... His reply sounds reasonable and experienced. He let me use hints intead of frankly speaking. How to design the basement if the enemy is a human, and the difference if the enemy is a ghost. He is a big fan of silence hill.

I have no budget for a writer, and he also has no confidence for wirting a plot and related gameplays for a game because he has no experience in game design. I can't help him because I am also a beginner on game developing and I played few games.

I want to find a way, so I can get a horror story with related gameplays by talking with him. Is there a list or manual on how to achieve this by asking?

Last edited: Sep 22, 2018
    jenniferlopez likes this.
  2. Murgilod

Murgilod

Not everything has a manual.

3. hongwaixuexi

hongwaixuexi

So game design is more like empiricism

4. bart_the_13th

bart_the_13th

5. neoshaman

neoshaman

In before writing, beginner or not, you must have something you want to tell or a goal to achieve, it's only when you can start applying rules to structure it. The only constant is that you want to make game, but you don't seem to have a goal with what to do with games, not even a simple one, all your express goal are external (make money). You need to have an interest in the subject you tackle to get somewhere and not change goal everytime you meet a challenge.