Search Unity

How to start with this Lost Vikings-like multiplayer puzzle game?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Endarire, Apr 11, 2018.

1. Endarire

Endarire

Intro
    Greetings, all!

I'm fairly new at Unity. I've experimented with certain aspects and done some tutorials, but nothing that seemed spiffy enough to sell.

However, due to Unity's versatility and its large asset store, I'm strongly considering it for a game project. Thus, since someone else has already made tutorials or/and asset store assets for this game type (engine, etc.), what should I most consider, how to obtain these, and what else should I know?

Thankee!

(I also wasn't sure where to put this post. If this would be better placed elsewhere, please move it.)

Game Pitch
    Multi-character, one player or multiplayer (local or online), puzzle platformer akin to The Lost Vikings.

Gameplay Overview
    Gameplay-wise, each level has access to a certain list of characters, controlled one at a time by a player. (In multiplayer mode, each player controls one character.) A maximum of 4 players can each play 1 character at a time. If the level allows more than this, these other characters are kept in reserve to be swapped at certain tiles.

The moment-to-moment play is about moving the units around a level, manipulating objects like switches and buttons, to allow all units to reach the level's exit or otherwise complete the required objective(s).

Each level has at least 2 optional objectives and 1 required objective. The optional objectives are generally "collect X" and "complete this level within Y time."

Each unit has at least 1 special ability (activating objects unique to them or shooting arrows or placing platforms in liquid, etc.). All units can do certain basic things like move, jump, hover, pick up/throw certain objects (including other playable characters), and manipulate many/most objects like buttons and switches.