Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to start Infinite Runner game Development.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by SuperMeta-Studios, Apr 13, 2018.

1. SuperMeta-Studios

SuperMeta-Studios

I've been developing games for past four months just to get a good understanding on how Unity works, still a noob though. I want to try creating a Endless runner type game similar to Subway Surfers (how cliche!) for myself, just for practice. My question is what's the best way to set it up? The game has 10 levels, lets just call it sections, that spawn one after the other (in random order) each containing obstacles and other stuff, that are either pooled or manually placed. Do I create each section as new Levels and then load new levels with triggers or should I create a Gameobject that contain all the objects for the particular level?

If I go with Separate levels for each sections, The game freezes a bit before a new level is loaded and the whole setup way is way complicated for me at this point.

If I go separate Gameobject for each sections; some section are, lets say, 100 world units and some are just 50 and some even less. How to make each gameobject to spawn at the end (I can use boxcollider to get the collider size) of the section?

Sorry I've asked a lot questions here, but i've been having sleepless nights trying to figure this.

Thank you in Advance.

2. Billy4184

Billy4184

As far as I know, subway surfers levels are built on-the-fly in a straight line. The player stays at (0,0,0) and the level gets moved backward, and the levels are deformed into curves by vertex shaders according to the world z position. I made a runner for fun this way some time ago, so I know it works.

So you just need to determine the rules that the level is built with, and create only as much as the player can see.

3. THoeppner