Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to Spawn objects infront of moving player

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by kipa1996, Jun 21, 2018.

1. kipa1996

kipa1996

Hello there!

Im new to making games and have just recently downloaded unity and followed Brackeys tutorial on youtube on how to make your first video game. This video game is the one where you are a cube moving down a path dodging other cubes that are in the way. I've been able to keep up on the tutorial so far but now I want to go a little off tutorial. I've been able to make 5 spawnpoints where 4 of them spawn randomly and appear in certain locations infront of the player at the beginning but I really dont know how to make it so they continuously spawn randomly infront of the player as it moves forward. Here's my code so far inte the spawning script. Just tell me if u need anything else since this is my first post here.

Code (csharp):
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class BlackSpawner : MonoBehaviour {
    7.     public Transform[] SpawnPoints;
    9.     public GameObject blockPrefab;
    11.     void Start ()
    12.     {
    13.         int RandomIndex = Random.Range(0, SpawnPoints.Length);
    15.         for (int i = 0; i < SpawnPoints.Length; i++)
    17.         {
    18.             if (RandomIndex != i)
    19.             {
    20.                 Instantiate(blockPrefab, SpawnPoints[i].position, Quaternion.identity);
    22.             }
    25.         }
    26.     }
    30. }

2. xVergilx

xVergilx

You need to learn how to decompose complex task to much smaller ones.
    If I do understand correctly you would need to:
    1. Determine where player actually heading. If this one is always Z+ then direction would be Vector3.Forward (World Space Forward)