Search Unity

how to setup a database in Unity

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by DylanWest, Oct 6, 2009.

1. DylanWest

DylanWest

I am new to Unity and I've scoured the forums and documentation for a clear tutorial on how to setup a database in Unity. Everything I find is unclear, incomplete or assumes the reader already knows most of the steps. Can someone please explain in a simple step-by-step fashion how to do this? I would like to use a sqlite database to store game data like ammo, items collected, etc...

Thanks

2. Dreamora

Dreamora

Unity has no support for databases in any way.

you would have to use the mono / .net support for this and add in the required additional assemblies.

3. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

That seems like major overkill; the usual method is to use PlayerPrefs for items like that.

--Eric

4. DylanWest

DylanWest

I have found the posts that mention using dlls for mono, but those posts are not written like a tutorial to someone unfamiliar with it. Can you give me some steps to take for setting up mono for unity?

@Eric5h5: And no, it's not overkill to use a database for what I need. PlayerPrefs will not fit the bill for my game.

5. Dreamora

Dreamora

you don't need to setup mono. Unity already has it, you are working with mono all the time.

actually you couldn't even use a downloaded and setup mono if you wanted to.

What you need to do is check the documentations of mono / MSDN for informations on database support and get an idea what you are looking for using them within unity through C#

6. MatthewW

MatthewW

As mentioned, you probably don't want an actual database. PlayerPrefs or state serialization or something far simpler will be a better solution.

But, just so you can kill some time, you should know that sqlite has been ported to C#. I don't think anyone has tried this in Unity's environment, yet, but feel free to be the first: http://code.google.com/p/csharp-sqlite/

7. DylanWest

DylanWest