Search Unity

Question How to set up code for unit tests in a practical way?

Discussion in 'Testing & Automation' started by MrKodei, Aug 22, 2023.

1. MrKodei

MrKodei

Hey there, I got one practical question regarding unit tests:
    So in my understanding (i am pretty new to this topic), the point of unit testing is, being able to test your actual code. And even more so, being able to test it through production. So that, when the code changes, the test can spot that difference and report an error.
    So i would want to test my ACTUAL code from my ACTUAL classes. I learned, that this is not so easy, since you can not create monobehaviours in EditMode (which are, from what i heard, preferred, since they don't need as much set up and are faster). So one solution is to use NSubstitute, in which you create Interfaces of your classes.
    Now to my question:

Interfaces can not have concrete implementations of methods. And i can not access the methods of my "normal monobehaviour class" (e.g. character), because i can not instantiate it in the test enviroment (EditMode Tests with NSubstitute).

That means in order to access and test a concrete implementation of a method, i need a helper method (either static or from a non-monobehaviour). Would you have two methods, one in the class (main method), and on as a helper? But then you would always have to change the helper method as soon as you change the "main method", which means you could forget it and therefore have bugs, despite your test passing. Or would you use helper methods in the first place and use them in the "main class" (like a damage calculator)? I hope my question is understandable :D thanks a lot !

CharacterClass.png CharacterInterface.png View attachment 1291356

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 22, 2023
  2. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

You got that wrong, like so many other devs. ;)