Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions by the end of July. Read our announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Bug How to restore player settings?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by cephalo2, Apr 1, 2024.

  1. cephalo2

    cephalo2

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    263
    I accidentally pressed the 'not connected' button on the unity hub, because I do use unity services and thought it would be necessary/harmless. However, it completely destroyed all of my project settings, such as splash screens and dozens of other really important settings for publishing. I made some important code changes that I would like to keep, but I would like to restore just my project settings to a previous state. Can I do that if I have backups? What a huge hassle.
     
  2. ArachnidAnimal

    ArachnidAnimal

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Posts:
    1,936
    In the root folder of your project there is a folder called ProjectSettings that might store the settings you're referring to. There's also files in the Library folder related to settings (i.e. BuildSettings, ProjectSettings). You could try restoring that folder and files.
    NOTE: BACKUP YOUR CURRENT PROJECT BEFORE YOU DO THIS.
     
  3. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21,769
    Wait, really? I just created a test project to see how hard it would be to disconnect but clicking the 'not connected' doesn't do anything for me. To get the option to connect I have to either click the link in the tooltip that appears or click the three dots for the project and click the entry in the dropdown. After clicking one of those I then have to select an organization and click 'connect'.
     
  4. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    7,028
    99.99999% certainty that the cause (your action) and the effect ("destroyed" settings) are entirely unrelated. ;)