Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

How to report a bug when help menu won't open?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Krokant17, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. Krokant17

    Krokant17

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    I have a bug and I want to report it the proper way, through Help -> Report Bug.
    But there is a problem, the bug itself won't allow that.

    There is a message "re-serializing assets..." showing up in a window that instantly will be closed again, but it appears with any action performed. So no action can be performed because this just will repeat again.
    I.e., when trying to click "Help", this message also shows up and prevents me from reporting the bug. When I try to close Unity Editor, it also appears making Force Quit necessary). When restarting Unity or reimporting all assets (I somehow managed that), the problem is still present.

    Since I don't know how to report this bug, I just query this into this forum, please consider this not as disrespecting the guidelines.
     
  2. LurkingNinjaDev

    LurkingNinjaDev

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    622
    In theory you can access it directly from the Unity install-directory.
    https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    (I'm not in the front of my Unity-computer at the moment, so I can't check if this information is still correct)
     
  3. zombiegorilla

    zombiegorilla

    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Posts:
    7,221
    Try creating an new project... there won't be assets to process.
     
  4. Krokant17

    Krokant17

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks, you two! :) And sorry if this was the wrong forum :)

    I solved the problem by deleting the Library and Temp folders.

    Is it advisable to report an issue where you know how to handle it and how would you report both bug and solution? Don't want to expand the dev's workload...
     
  5. Krokant17

    Krokant17

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Well, the problem returned :(
    But in fact, the Bug Reporter can be started as autonomous program, again thanks for the advise :)
     
  6. angrypenguin

    angrypenguin

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Posts:
    10,889
    Yes, report it anyway, as you presumably shouldn't have to handle it. Having a known workaround might even make it easier for them to track the cause down.
     
    Kiwasi and QFSW like this.