Search Unity

Resolved how to reload a scene?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by kij_od_miotly, Mar 29, 2023.

  1. kij_od_miotly

    kij_od_miotly

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2022
    Posts:
    25
    the answers i've found reload the scene, but disable all scripts.
    edit: it actually doesn't disable scripts but it still does weird things
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2023
  2. spiney199

    spiney199

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Posts:
    7,838
    It can be as simple as:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. string currentSceneName = SceneManager.GetActiveScene().name;
    2. SceneManager.LoadScene(currentSceneName);
    Which just unloads the current instance of the scene, and loads a new instance of the current scene.
     
    Gerzent and MaxLohMusic like this.
  3. kij_od_miotly

    kij_od_miotly

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2022
    Posts:
    25
    this is what happens when i used your code:
    unity behavior.gif
     
  4. spiney199

    spiney199

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Posts:
    7,838
    Okay, and?

    It will just do what I said it does. Rarely will two lines of code on its own be the solution. If it doesn't work, figure out why it doesn't work, and work out a solution.
     
    MaxLohMusic and Kurt-Dekker like this.
  5. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,686
    This seems unlikely. Are you sure you didn't just set Time.timeScale to zero or something like that? If you did you have to set it back to 1 again to have time flow normally.

    As Spiney says, (re)loading a scene this is ultra-ultra-simple stuff, millions of Youtube and Google results for you to try. You could try each one in less time than it takes to post to the forum.

    And we know it will work, so it sounds like you missed something critical.

    Time to start debugging! Here is how you can begin your exciting new debugging adventures:

    You must find a way to get the information you need in order to reason about what the problem is.

    Once you understand what the problem is, you may begin to reason about a solution to the problem.

    What is often happening in these cases is one of the following:

    - the code you think is executing is not actually executing at all
    - the code is executing far EARLIER or LATER than you think
    - the code is executing far LESS OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing far MORE OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing on another GameObject than you think it is
    - you're getting an error or warning and you haven't noticed it in the console window

    To help gain more insight into your problem, I recommend liberally sprinkling
    Debug.Log()
    statements through your code to display information in realtime.

    Doing this should help you answer these types of questions:

    - is this code even running? which parts are running? how often does it run? what order does it run in?
    - what are the names of the GameObjects or Components involved?
    - what are the values of the variables involved? Are they initialized? Are the values reasonable?
    - are you meeting ALL the requirements to receive callbacks such as triggers / colliders (review the documentation)

    Knowing this information will help you reason about the behavior you are seeing.

    You can also supply a second argument to Debug.Log() and when you click the message, it will highlight the object in scene, such as
    Debug.Log("Problem!",this);


    If your problem would benefit from in-scene or in-game visualization, Debug.DrawRay() or Debug.DrawLine() can help you visualize things like rays (used in raycasting) or distances.

    You can also call Debug.Break() to pause the Editor when certain interesting pieces of code run, and then study the scene manually, looking for all the parts, where they are, what scripts are on them, etc.

    You can also call GameObject.CreatePrimitive() to emplace debug-marker-ish objects in the scene at runtime.

    You could also just display various important quantities in UI Text elements to watch them change as you play the game.

    If you are running a mobile device you can also view the console output. Google for how on your particular mobile target, such as this answer or iOS: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-ios.529920/ or this answer for Android: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-android.528680/

    If you are working in VR, it might be useful to make your on onscreen log output, or integrate one from the asset store, so you can see what is happening as you operate your software.

    Another useful approach is to temporarily strip out everything besides what is necessary to prove your issue. This can simplify and isolate compounding effects of other items in your scene or prefab.

    Here's an example of putting in a laser-focused Debug.Log() and how that can save you a TON of time wallowing around speculating what might be going wrong:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/coroutine-missing-hint-and-error.1103197/#post-7100494

    When in doubt, print it out!(tm)

    Note: the
    print()
    function is an alias for Debug.Log() provided by the MonoBehaviour class.
     
  6. kij_od_miotly

    kij_od_miotly

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2022
    Posts:
    25
    you're right timescale was just 0
     
    MaxLohMusic and Kurt-Dekker like this.