Search Unity

Question How to realize eraser mechanics in Unity?

Discussion in '2D' started by YokoShizuka, Feb 22, 2023.

1. YokoShizuka

YokoShizuka

Hello everyone.

I am newbie in Unity, and I try to learn by solving specific problems in my own game. I sorry if my question is stupid and easy to solve, but I really don't get it.
    I need to learn how to realize eraser mechanics. I have found these examples:
    https://answers.unity.com/questions/1546694/erasing-a-part-of-an-image-using-setpixel-without.html
    https://pastebin.com/Tcr4cuuu
    And there is the same mechanics in Red Strings Club

But I don't understand how to make this script (the second url) work.

2. Unrighteouss

Unrighteouss

The question contained in title of this thread is neither stupid nor is it easy to solve. I've been learning C# on my own for a few years now, and it would likely take me hours to dissect and comprehend this script: https://pastebin.com/Tcr4cuuu

Generally, it's good to include what issues you're facing in making the script work; what you've tried, what errors you're getting, etc...

However, I tried it out myself, and I got it working (mostly). Here's a step by step guide:

1. I started by making a square sprite (project window -> right click -> create -> 2D -> sprites -> square).
    2. Click on the square in the project window -> look at its inspector window -> Advanced -> tick Read/Write.
    3. Add the square to the scene -> add the "DrawLines" script as a component and change the "Er Size" to 1.
    4. Give it a BoxCollider2D component and change the size of the collider to X 2.56 / Y 2.56.
    5. Make sure you have an orthographic camera with a negative z position.

Hit play and you can erase the square by clicking and dragging. I don't know the specifics of how this works, or how to change the size of the sprite. All I managed to figure out was that you need a collider that matches the sprite's size to draw correctly on it.