Search Unity

1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback How to proceed in order to get feedback for a simple asset work in progress

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dot_entity, Nov 9, 2023.

1. dot_entity

dot_entity

Maybe its all about rookie's overthinking, but the little I looked around has confused me of where/how to post some work I've done and I would now like some feedback of what could have been done better.

I am a hobbyist in regards to Unity and my knowledge and experience is kind of sparse among different topics related to game development. Given the former fact, I was recently tempted to create a shuriken particle system to simulate butterflies flying around an object. All in all, is actually a set of a few components: the particle system, the custom shader and the material that the system uses and a c# script. I managed (with some help in the forums) to achieve the end result, but since the outcome has been basically putting together working patches of code, I would love to know of how it could be done better.
    Therefore my question is where and what content is best to post, in order to have a chance that someone will want to have a look and give feedback?
    Although for the "where" part the answer seems obvious: "-In the respective forum section" I am not sure where this exactly is. Let me please explain:
    - I feel that the "normal" (sub)forums (Unity's or elsewhere) are meant for specific issues narrowed down to some part of the project or code. Instead, I would prefer an overall review and despite of all the work is more or less just a shader and a c# script, I just don't feel it's right to go post two scripts and ask people to comment.
    - The WIP section feels that is intended for users' reflection and recommendations on the outcome of a complete project and not the technicalities of certain components.