Search Unity

Question How to prevent VS Code stop on UnityEngine.ExitGUIException? Or how to fix it.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Gulliver, Jun 7, 2023.

  1. Gulliver

    Gulliver

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Posts:
    101
    Hello everybody.

    Unity ver 2022.3.0. Visual Studio Code ver 1.77.0

    VS Code is attached to Unity as a debugger.

    Each time when I press Add Component button to any game object in the scene -- ExitGUIException is raised so VS Code becomes active and Unity pauses. So I can't add components unless I stop debugging.

    As you can see on the screenshot -- Unity editor, not my scripts caused the exception, so I can't fix it. I tried to add an exception to the ignored list (bottom of the screenshot) -- but this not helps.

    Any ideas on how to solve this problem ?

    Thanks.

    ExitGUI.jpg
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,697
    I'm never sure how much of this Visual Studio configuration / setup actually gets driven from the integration package used to open it... but that's one thing to perhaps check or update. Here's my standard blurb on that Rube Goldberg chain:

    This may help you with intellisense and possibly other Visual Studio integration problems:

    Sometimes the fix is as simple as doing Assets -> Open C# Project from Unity. Other times it requires more.

    Other times it requires you also nuke the userprefs and .vsconfig and other crufty low-value high-hassle files that Visual Studio tends to slowly damage over time, then try the above trick.

    Barring all that, move on to other ideas:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/intellisense-not-working-with-visual-studio-fix.836599/

    Also, try update the VSCode package inside of Unity: Window -> Package Manager -> Search for Visual Studio Code Editor -> Press the Update button

    Also, this: https://forum.unity.com/threads/no-suggestions-in-vscode.955197/#post-6227874
     
  3. Gulliver

    Gulliver

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Posts:
    101
    Intellisense working Ok. VS Code package updated to last version.
     
  4. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21,155