Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How To Occlude Post Effect Objects ?

Discussion in 'Image Effects' started by TreasureMap, Jun 13, 2016.

1. TreasureMap

TreasureMap

I have a glow post effect that is being applied to some weapons in my scene.
    Unfortunately, the glow does not get occluded by foreground and background scene objects.
    I was wondering if anyone knows of a way to fix this ?

PostGlow_No_Z_Occlusion.png PostGlow_No_Z_Occlusion_2.png

I have some foreground and background objects (floor, 3 capsules, a wall) set to layer Default
    I have 2 Weapons Set To Layer "Glow". The weapons are sticking half way into the floor.

I have 3 Scene cameras:
    Depth 0: Main Camera - Sees Default Layer - Clear Solid Color (Floor, capsule, wall)
    Depth 1: Glow Camera - Sees Nothing - Don't Clear (Renders Weapon Glow to RT, uses command buffer)
    Depth 2: Weapon Camera - Sees Glow Layer - Don't Clear (Renders Weapons on top of glow)

Every thing looks fine except the glow part which is not getting properly occluded.
    I have included some sample pics for reference.

2. Tim-C

Tim-C

Unity Technologies

Does your shader here do z testing? Take a look at the frame debugger to see the state of rendering at this step.

3. TreasureMap

TreasureMap

The camera's in my scene render a depth texture.
    The objects in my scene were using Unlit/Color and Unlit/Texture.

For testing, I had my glow post effect shader do a depth pass only.
    I have some occlusion objects (cylinders) in my scene that I put in front of my weapons.
    Unfortunately there was still no occlusion.
    Then I changed the cylinder's shader to "Legacy Shaders/VertexLit" and finally got occlusion!
    I could finally see the cylinder pass in front of my weapons in the Depth pass.