Search Unity

How to move properly a sprite (character)

Discussion in '2D' started by Denbrough, Nov 24, 2013.

1. Denbrough

Denbrough

Hello!

I'm trying to develop a platform game and I'm wondering how to move properly a sprite.

I read some tutorials and recommended use the same as 3d. move directly the sprite. but I read the box2d documentation and says that is not recommended because can cause some trouble with colissions, they recommend using AddForce. But when I use addForce I get some extrange behavior, (used the controller of the potato tutorial) my sprite slips over the floor, tried to add some friction got the same result.

Thats why I'm wondering what method must be used. There so little documentation about this.

Thanks and sorry if the answer has been answered, but I read a lot of this and in some cases transform is used in other cases addforce.

2. Tiggster

Tiggster

I'm just a beginner myself, but I personally use them both. Translate seems to work fine, but AddForce takes more advantage of the 2d physics for things like jumping. It will be nice when more in depth tutorials are available for the new Unity 4.3 2d functionality.

3. Spinnernicholas

Spinnernicholas

I haven't worked with 2D physics in Unity, but I have work with an implementation of box2d before. To get consistent results, you need to apply an instantaneous force. This is different than a normal force that is applied over a length of time. You should also be able to change the velocity directly.

For movement, you could set a constant velocity.

For jumping, you could either apply an instant force or set the velocity up.

Those will lower the chance of a physics glitch occurring, like clipping through the floor.

4. Spinnernicholas

Spinnernicholas

It might help too, if you manually set the velocity to zero when you want you character to stop moving in a particular direction.