Search Unity

Question how to make terrain and world map like Valheim?

Discussion in 'World Building' started by EldritchSin, May 12, 2022.

1. EldritchSin

EldritchSin

Hi i'm a bit of a semi newb i've dabbled in making my own small games over the years and now am just starting on a larger project I want to do, I'm pretty new to unity.

I was wondering if anyone knows what kind of resources I would need to make terrain and a world map similar to the one in Valheim, it doesn't have to be randomly generated, but it has pretty much exact style I want to go for, but im at a bit of a loss at where to begin.

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Where you always begin! Blank scene, lay down a terrain, then start looking for placeholder google image assets to help you flesh things out, make some terrain features, iterate, replace, make some props, get some props from the asset store, etc..

Keep in mind something like just the terrain alone in Valheim probably represents thousands if not tens of thousands hours of dedicated work by people who professionally know how to produce environments and props, working from a cascade of initial concept art, pre-production design, iterating on design and look, playtesting, etc..

I'm not saying this to discourage you but rather to give you a reasonable set of expectations of what you can come up with if you spend (for example) 1 hour working on this, or 10 hours working on this, or 100 hours, etc.

Last edited: May 29, 2022
    reb-issachar likes this.
  3. Zerothbyte

Zerothbyte

I think the OP was also maybe highly likely and mostly referring to the ability to manipulate terrain during runtime, because Valheim devs have said most of their assets are from packs (not made by them), but of course, they have stylized it to make it their own.