Search Unity

How to make models?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by YB90, Feb 11, 2017.

1. YB90

YB90

Sorry for the noob question. I've just started using Unity and i'm trying to make an endless runner game following a tutorial.
    I think i've hit a roadblock now, he's started to use assets from a package and I want to create my own character model and environments.

I'm still learning everything but assets are just basically the word for objects in the games environment? So does everyone who uses unity download a package and use the same or similar assets to make a game?
    Also how do you make your own character then? I've tried researching and I find that you have to download blender and 3D sculpt your character. Is that the only way? Or can you download a model from an asset and somehow edit it?

2. neginfinity

neginfinity

No. Assets is an item used by your game. Sound, texture, models, even text files can be assets.

No, a lot of people make their own stuff.

You use any 3d modeling software that can output any file format unity can understand.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/3D-formats.html

Blender 3d, 3dsmax, maya, etc.

No, you can also use polygonal modeling. If you never modeled before sculpting your game characcter will be more difficult, because resulting sculpted character will have huge number of polygons and will not be really usable in the game without additional extra steps.

You can, if your modeling software supports whatever format used by the model (blender has a lot of trouble reading fbx files), however, if you downloaded asset from the asset store, you will not be allowed redistribute modified version of the asset outside of the game, due to licensing restrictions.