Search Unity

1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question How to make hitmarker detect when bullets collide with something, and fade in over crosshair

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Jivu286, Dec 3, 2023.

1. Jivu286

Jivu286

I'm using physical bullets in my prototype for an arcadey air combat game. I was trying to use the bullet's own impact scripts to set the hitmarker on my ui layer to setactive when they collide with a target and didn't have any luck, so now I want to try making a script on the hitmarker gameobject itself that detects if a bullet has collided with a target. However I'm very new to coding and I'm having trouble finding resources for either method. Can anyone point me in the right direction?Z

This is all I have so far:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class HitMarkerScript : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    4.     public GameObject bullet;
    5.     public GameObject hitMarker;
    7.     public AudioClip hitMarkerSound;
    9.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    10.     void Start()
    11.     {
    12.         hitMarker.SetActive(false);
    13.         bullet.GetComponent<Collider>();
    14.     }
    I did see one video saying you can use a lerp on the images transparency to fade the marker in and out, but I'd like to get the basic functionality first. Where do I go from here?

2. Lenakeiz

Lenakeiz

If I understood correctly you want to detect collisions between bullets and targets, and then activate some hitmarker UI element based on the result.

For this job I think that the
    OnCollisionEnter
    or
    OnTriggerEnter
    function are perfect.

For example you could do something like

Code (CSharp):
    1. // This method is called when the collider associated to this object collides with another collider
    2.     void OnCollisionEnter(Collision collision)
    3.     {