Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to make a super simple network?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by DarkDeivel, Nov 28, 2022.

1. DarkDeivel

DarkDeivel

Hi all! How can I make a very simple network? I have an android application installed on several smartphones. I need to send a signal to other applications when I press one button in the application. I only need 1 function from the network.

I have little experience with PUN, but it gives a delay, I need something as fast as possible. So that you can transmit a network signal via Bluetooth or Wifi. What solution is worth exploring for this? Thank you.

2. RikuTheFuffs-U

RikuTheFuffs-U

Unity Technologies

Hi @DarkDeivel , you can achieve it by connecting all the clients either through a dedicated server service (more expensive, but reliable), or through a Relay server + NAT punchthrough (cheaper, but cheateable).
    If the devices are all on the same local network, you can even use direct IP.

Once they're connected, you can use a networking framework like Netcode For GameObjects to send messages across them.

Does this answer your question?

DarkDeivel likes this.
  3. mgear

mgear

4. Punfish

Punfish

When you say, gives a delay, how long as you referring? There will always be some delay due to data traveling over the network.

5. DarkDeivel

DarkDeivel

The question of cheating does not bother me in this matter. Thanks for the advice, I'll look into it.

Interesting, I'll look into that, thanks a lot.

Hello, I know, but the photon has more than it needs, because there is no direct connection.

RikuTheFuffs likes this.
  6. Punfish

Punfish

Okay so you mean it's going through their relay.
    You're going to have a delay no matter what, which of course will be marginally higher if using a relay or dedicated server.