Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to make a scenario-based game ?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by flo62134, Nov 12, 2017.

1. flo62134

flo62134

Hi everyone !

First of all, I'm quite new to Unity and I would like to have some advice from experimented Untiy users.

For a school project, my team has to make a 2D game based on story.
    The goal is to have a short story, composed of five scenes.
    The scenes do not have a precise order : scene B can be showed to the player before scene A for example. (Actually, the player chooses the order of the scenes at the beginning of the game)

In a scene, there are two characters.
    The background of a scene is always the same and the camera won't move during the scene.
    The two characters can interact with the items around them. For example, they can move, use a hammer, hide behind a bush...
    The two characters aren't directly controlled by the player. To be more precise, it's more like a cutscene : we can only watch the characters evolve in the environment.

There are some dialogues that are the core of the project.
    Dialogues are highly connected with animations.
    Actually, a scene is like a mini interactive movie, but with clickable dialogues that make the game run.
    During a scene, the player is asked a score to give (between 1 and 10) and the result will have consequences on the scenario. The last part of the scene will be different whether or not the player gave a good rating.

The problem is that we don't reallly know how to make this the proper way.
    How can we integrate these animations ? What is the best way to store them ?
    There must be a lot of scenes at the end of the project and the goal is to keep the project clear and understandable for someone that is not part of the team.